making Scrolls and Potions

Baumi

Adventurer
HiHo!

I will soon start with a new campaign where I will play a Kobold-Illusionist who is the "familiar" of a Human-Witch (Sorcerer) and I wonder what I could do with the Feats Scribe Scroll and Brew Points (when I reach lvl 3).

So there are severall questions where I hope someone can answer it to me (links to official rulings would be great):

-) Can I scribe a scroll or brew a potion if I dont know the spell but my "Master" do (we are both Arcane Mages)? So we combine our knowledge about making the Item and the Spell itself.

-) If I can use the spell-knowledge of someone else (former question), can I also make a divine Scroll/Potion with the help from our Druid (another Character)?

-) The limit 1 day for 1000 gold per Scroll, minimum one day is a bit confusing. Does this mean that each spell writen takes one day or only the complete scroll (which can hold severall spells).

Ok I hope I have not forgotten anything and thanks again for any help!

Have FUN!
Baumi
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hmm...

1. Yes, if another arcane caster has the Brew Potion (or Scribe Scroll) feat and you do not, then the two of you together can make a potion or scroll containing a spell that you know but he does not, just as with any other magical item. The one with the feat must lose the XP though (pg. 241 in DMG, "access [to the spell] through an item or another spellcaster is allowed").

2. Some magical items have pre-reqs of both divine and arcane spells, requiring arcane and divine casters to work together on these spells. In these cases, as above, only one person actually needs the feat, and he is the one who loses the XP. Thus I would think it would be the same for potions and scrolls, although again the one with the feat would lose the XP (unless the XP cost is from the spell itself, in which case the caster loses the XP) (an inference from existing spell pre-reqs and from pg. 241 in DMG).

3. That just means that you can only work on one scroll in a day. Thus if a scroll costs 1,001 gp then it takes two days to make and for those two days you can only be creating that one scroll. The entire scroll takes this long, not that much time for each spell in the scroll (pg. 242 in DMG "A Character can only work on one item at a time").
 


Remove ads

Top