Meet Our Columnists: Lewis Pulsipher

This interview is part of a series introducing our EN World Columnists. In this latest installment, I interview the esteemed Lewis Pulsipher!

This interview is part of a series introducing our EN World Columnists. In this latest installment, I get to interview the esteemed Lewis Pulsipher!

Collage of Lews works from Coreldraw1600x1400 px added Doomstar for printing 0317.jpg

Michael Tresca (MT): Tell us a little about who you are and what you do.
Lewis Pulsipher (LP):
My column is “Worlds of Design,” which dates back to April 2017 with some 175 released. Christopher Helton, the original editor, described it as “Somewhere in the intersection of world building advice and role-playing game design theory.” My Wikipedia entry (“Lewis Pulsipher”) is likely out of date, but is a good starter about me. I am a retired computer teacher, computer programmer, computer support person, computer networking teacher, and game development teacher. My favorite game these days is “the game of designing games.” I have designed many board games, about a dozen of them published (depends on how you count) as early as 1979. But in the past my favorite game was first edition Dungeons & Dragons (I started playing with the three booklets plus Grayhawk), and during a 20 year hiatus from the game hobby to learn computing and make a living the only game I played was AD&D. I wrote a great many articles about D&D/RPGs for game magazines in the late 70s and early 80s, I think I was contributing editor to Dragon and White Dwarf, then they required to buy full rights which I would not sell, ending my contributions; then the hiatus occurred. My most well-known game design, one that has seen various editions in five languages, and many games designed by other people using the game system, is Britannia, an epic game of a thousand years of British history for four players. (Currently out of print after 2021 issue.) I have not tried to design a full RPG, because I co