Metamagic

Minosis

First Post
When you apply a metamagic feat to a spell it does not affect the level for things like minor globe of invulnerability. but what about meta magic rods and concentration checks.

If you memorize an empowered fireball(level 5 slot), would the concentration check for casting defensivelyt count it as a 5th level or 3rd level spell?

could you also apply the lesser rod for quicken to the spell or is it a 5th level spell ofr these purposes?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

It should count as 3rd level for all purposes (except figuring out what slot is needed to cast it).

So, you could use the rod and the Concentration check would be against the lower DC.

Bye
Thanee
 

Except for the metamagic feat, which does exactly what you want.:

HEIGHTEN SPELL [METAMAGIC]
Benefit: A heightened spell has a higher spell level than normal (up to a maximum of 9th level). Unlike other metamagic feats, Heighten Spell actually increases the effective level of the spell that it modifies. All effects dependent on spell level (such as saving throw DCs and ability to penetrate a lesser globe of invulnerability) are calculated according to the heightened level. The heightened spell is as difficult to prepare and cast as a spell of its effective level.
 


Thanee said:
It should count as 3rd level for all purposes (except figuring out what slot is needed to cast it).

So, you could use the rod and the Concentration check would be against the lower DC.

Note that for purposes of crafting the spell into a potion or wand, storing it in a ring of spell storing, or for pricing purposes, it counts as 5th level.

The precedent seems to be "For purposes of interaction with level-dependent magic items, it counts as 5th", and thus I'd prohibit it from working with a Lesser Metamagic Rod.

A rule of thumb suggested by a designer at one point was "Treat it as 3rd level or 5th level, whichever is less favourable."

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Note that for purposes of crafting the spell into a potion or wand, storing it in a ring of spell storing, or for pricing purposes, it counts as 5th level.

Yeah, those also. :)

The precedent seems to be "For purposes of interaction with level-dependent magic items, it counts as 5th", and thus I'd prohibit it from working with a Lesser Metamagic Rod.

A rule of thumb suggested by a designer at one point was "Treat it as 3rd level or 5th level, whichever is less favourable."

Then it depends on the order of operation, tho. ;)

Bye
Thanee
 


Remove ads

Top