Metamagics in a spell storing weapon

schnivelbiv

First Post
A spell storing weapon lets you store a 3rd level or lower targeted spell in your weapon that can be discharged on your target when you hit. My question is, how do the sudden metamagic feats and metamagic rods work on spells that are placed in a spell storing item?
A caster with the normal empower spell feat the spell would fill a 4th level spell slot and it would be 4 spell levels in a spell storing item. If a caster with sudden empower or a metamagic rod of empower spell casts an empowered Scorching Ray it is cast as a second level spell. So if that spell is cast into a spell storing item is it considered 2 spell levels or 4?

Or more importantly for me can a scorching ray that is empowered from a metamagic rod be put into a spell storing weapon that will only hold up to 3rd level spells?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

schnivelbiv said:
Or more importantly for me can a scorching ray that is empowered from a metamagic rod be put into a spell storing weapon that will only hold up to 3rd level spells?
No,but it's because scorching ray is not a valid spell for a spell storing weapon. You can only use spells that are Targeted. "Effect: Ray" cannot be used.
 


schnivelbiv said:
While I disagree with you on the ray part, what about any given 2nd level damage dealing spell?
Technically yes, even in the case of normal metamagic feats, because you are not increasing the spell level, just the slot needed for the spell. I'm not sure I like it that way, personally, but I believe that's the correct interpretation.

About the ray part, do you care to discuss it further? Targeted spells have a clear definition.
 

Under the spell storing description in the DMG it gives several examples of spells that work that are not "Targeted" like a magic missile or a charm person is targeted. It clearly allows touch spells. My DM and I as a DM have ruled that this also means ranged touch spells.
 
Last edited:

I would rule that the spell level it is after being metamagiced has to be 3rd level or lower, I could be wrong but that's how I see it.
 





Remove ads

Top