Zerovoid
First Post
In Masters of the Wild, it says that an awakened animal companion can remain with its master, and counts against the druid's HD limit. This is quite a contrast to the earlier ruling by the sage, which I think said you couldn't keep awakened animals with you since they were magical beasts? This is pretty interesting. And just to keep us guessing about the rules, the relavent passage of MotW makes no mention about the awakened animal gaining class levels. Since these are more valuable than animal hit dice, it makes me wonder... I would probably allow awakened animal companions to gain class levels in my game, but I really would like a clear answer on this for once.