Natural reach plus Huge weapons

Grog

First Post
Do Huge (or larger) weapons add to the wielder's reach? I was looking through Savage Species and I didn't see anything about this. An ogre has a 10' reach, so an ogre wielding a longspear (Large weapon) would have a 15' reach, right? What about an ogre wielding a Huge longspear? Would that increase his reach to 20'? How about a creature wielding a Gargantuan or Colossal longspear? It seems that at some point, the spear would have to gain more than a 10' reach. Is there any official rule as to how this works?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

If a Large creature is using an appropriately-sized reach weapon, then his reach increases. If he's using a smaller weapon, then it does not. For example:

An ogre wielding a human-sized longspear (Large) does not gain any extra reach. He still maintains his 10' reach.

An ogre wielding an ogre-sized longspear (Huge) doubles his range, just as a human with a human-sized longspear does. The ogre's reach would be 15-20 feet, while unable to strike 5-10.
 

Is that an official rule? It doesn't really seem to make much sense. A longspear doesn't get any shorter just because it's being wielded by an ogre. If it increases a human's reach by 5', why wouldn't it do the same for an ogre?
 

Grog said:
Is that an official rule? It doesn't really seem to make much sense. A longspear doesn't get any shorter just because it's being wielded by an ogre. If it increases a human's reach by 5', why wouldn't it do the same for an ogre?

cos he holds it in a different place. :p

seriously, I'm pretty sure it's official, but i'm not positive.
 


The PHB and Savage Species have two different rules.

According to the PHB, an ogre (10' reach) using a Reach weapon would threaten 15' and 20', but not 5' or 10'. It doesn't specify the size of the Reach weapon - in theory, a human-sized longspear would qualify.

From memory, the Savage Species rule attempts to make it more sensible, but words it ambiguously, so that it doesn't actually make things clearer :)

-Hyp.
 

Okay, I managed to get a look at a copy of the Arms and Equipment guide. It says that weapons without reach never get extra reach as they increase in size, but weapons with more than 5 feet of reach get an extra 5 feet per size category they increase. So a huge longspear would have 15' of reach, which would combine with the ogre's 10' for a 20' reach, I believe.

So one would think that an ogre wielding a large longspear would have 15' reach... But apparentely, it's only 10'? I'm going to have to house rule that if it's true.
 

Grog said:
Okay, I managed to get a look at a copy of the Arms and Equipment guide. It says that weapons without reach never get extra reach as they increase in size, but weapons with more than 5 feet of reach get an extra 5 feet per size category they increase. So a huge longspear would have 15' of reach, which would combine with the ogre's 10' for a 20' reach, I believe.

Does a longspear combine with a human's 5' reach, to give 15'?

No.

Natural reach and weapon reach are NOT additive, sorry.

IMO reach shuld be stated as +X feet ... the reach woul then add to the reachof the creature that was wieldign it, and, anythign inside that actual MODIFIER, would be in the weapon's "myopic zone". IMC, I'll be handling it exactly that way.

So one would think that an ogre wielding a large longspear would have 15' reach... But apparentely, it's only 10'? I'm going to have to house rule that if it's true. [/B]

An Ogre wielding a size-large longspear has a reach of 10'; for the Ogre, that longspear is no different from a Shortspear sized up to match the ogre himself.

If the longspear is upsized once, to Huge, it's reach is now 15' ... and it is (roughly) proportionately long compared to the Ogre, as the original longspear would be to a human.
 

An Ogre wielding a size-large longspear has a reach of 10'; for the Ogre, that longspear is no different from a Shortspear sized up to match the ogre himself.

If the longspear is upsized once, to Huge, it's reach is now 15' ... and it is (roughly) proportionately long compared to the Ogre, as the original longspear would be to a human.

Not according to the PHB.

-Hyp.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top