Jolly Giant
First Post
Has Empower Spell been changed in 3.5? I havn't checked it, but in 3.0 only the random portion of a spell's effect was increased... (So an empowered Ray of Enfeeblement would deal (1d6*1.5)+lvl, not (1d6+lvl)*1.5) 

James McMurray said:I'd love to. Which issue should I check. There's been an awful lot of them printed since 3.0 came out.![]()
We should really have a sage ruling about slowed creatures and AoO. I agree that if it's not contradicted then it's not applicable, but damn. It just feels so weird. Brings me back to that cleave with longspear on AoO argument...James McMurray said:It neve states anywhere that they don't. AoOs are not tied to makin a full attack action.
So while it doesn't come flat out and state that they still do, there is absolutely no rule to suggest that they don't.
Take care to ask him first whether these Direwolves had Int 13, Combat Expertise and Improved TripTrainz said:I'm not subscribed to Dragon. I don't buy mags.
DireWolves do not have a free attack after a successful trip attempt ?
That would have changed the fight a lot. I'm gonna bust my Dm's balls...![]()
Trainz said:We should really have a sage ruling about slowed creatures and AoO. I agree that if it's not contradicted then it's not applicable, but damn. It just feels so weird. Brings me back to that cleave with longspear on AoO argument...
from the Sage said:A: You still threaten an area if you're slowed (if you're armed) and you can still make attack of opportunity (which is why you can't find anything in the rules that says you can't). Your number and kind of actions you can take when slowed is restricted, but making an AoO isn't an action.
Trainz said:DireWolves do not have a free attack after a successful trip attempt ?
That would have changed the fight a lot. I'm gonna bust my Dm's balls...![]()
Nah, it was a mistake on his part. I'm as at fault as he is because I didn't wing it when it happened. He acknowledged the mistake.Ferox4 said:By the book, no. However, it's your DM's game. Maybe he tweaked them a bit to make the encounter more challenging or he simply misread the text - it happens. I'd let it slide.....
James McMurray said:Actually, even in 3.0 the example given for empower (magic missile) was quite explicit in multiplying the entire damage of the spell.