Need clarification on failing saving throws

ForceUser

Explorer
For the duration of our time playing 3E, my game group has always assumed that rolling a "1" on any save is an automatic failure. Looking in the PHB in the Saving Throws section of the Combat rules on pg. 119, however, I discovered something startling: nowhere in the section does the text state or even imply that a roll of "1" is an automatic failure!

Am I to assume, then, that if you have a +12 modifier to your Fort save you cannot fail any check with a DC of 13 or lower?

Later, in Chapter 10: Magic, there is another saving throw section wherein the text states:

If a character rolls a natural 1 on his saving throw, however, an exposed item is harmed (if the attack can harm objects).
Following the above train of thought, does this mean that if a character rolls a natural 1 and makes his save that an item is potentially damaged regardless?

Am I missing something, or have we been doing it wrong this whole time?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Saving throws, attack rolls, and spell resistance checks all follow the 1 = fail, 20 = succeed rule. These are all areas that combat luck can make a difference.

Skill rolls and ability checks can fail on a 20 and succeed on a 1.

ForceUser said:
For the duration of our time playing 3E, my game group has always assumed that rolling a "1" on any save is an automatic failure. Looking in the PHB in the Saving Throws section of the Combat rules on pg. 119, however, I discovered something startling: nowhere in the section does the text state or even imply that a roll of "1" is an automatic failure!
 

You are correct in that nowhere in the Core Rules does it state that the autosuccess/failure rule applies to saving throws.

However, in the Main FAQ, it says it does.

So it's up to your DM, basically.

-Hyp.
 


Remove ads

Top