Noble Salamander & Longspear Damage?

Is this a typo? The noble salamander has a longspear that deals 1d8 damage yet it is a Large creature so shouldn't the damage be 2d6?

A Medium-sized longspear deals 1d8 and the noble salamander doesn't wield a shield, plus its reach is 20 feet with the longspear (which would be 15 feet with a Medium longspear, no?).
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I think the damage is a typo. If I had Cooper's Corrected Creature Codex, I could tell you for sure! ;) But a typo wouldn't be surprising. There are all kinds of mistakes in the MM/SRD monsters.
 

You might check in Savage Species or Manual of the Planes or some such...

As I recall, one of them has Salamander spears as an Exotic Weapon, complete with stats, and it was listed as 2d6 x2P.
 

The bigger question, IMO, is what the heck happened to their skill points? Outsiders are supposed to get 8+int mod skill points each HD, yet the SP they get seem more reminiscent of giants (2+int mod).
 

The bigger question, IMO, is what the heck happened to their skill points? Outsiders are supposed to get 8+int mod skill points each HD, yet the SP they get seem more reminiscent of giants (2+int mod).
3e to 3.5e conversion glitch? Philosophically, why not just use the advancement rules (see xorn, also)?
 

You might check in Savage Species or Manual of the Planes or some such...

As I recall, one of them has Salamander spears as an Exotic Weapon, complete with stats, and it was listed as 2d6 x2P.
Savage species does.

Is this a typo? The noble salamander has a longspear that deals 1d8 damage yet it is a Large creature so shouldn't the damage be 2d6?
Yes it should be.
(which would be 15 feet with a Medium longspear, no?).
if that is not a large longspear, I don't think the 3.5 ruleset lets the noble salamander claim any reach.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top