Nonproficency with armor attack penalty


log in or register to remove this ad

kreynolds said:
If your DM allows the supplemental rules for bracers from the Arms & Equipment Guide, bracers start to totally rock. There ain't nothin' cooler than a pair of bracers with silent moves and heavy fortification man!

Ok, well, maybe there is, but you get the idea. :D

The only thing cooler is being a fighter with full plate armor, and still wearing bracers of armor.

Obviously the armor would overlap any armor bonus from the bracers, but couldn't you still get the heavy fortification and silcent moves from it? Talk about a cheap way to double up on your armor magics.

-Skaros
 

Hannibal Barca said:
For a number of reasons. I wanted a coherent argument explaining why this is. Note I am not committed to one of the two answers, just curious why the rule applies to this circumstance.

Finding a suitable handwave is left as an exercise for the reader.
 

There are two parts to casting a ranged-touch attack spell with a somatic component. First, you have to complete the complicated gestures required to trigger the magic itself (the somatic component), and then you have to actually aim and hit your target with the ray (the attack roll).

Wearing armor at all means that it will interfere with the gestures (somatic component) of the spell. There is simply too much restriction of motion to properly make the correct gestures (thus a chance of spell failure). Being un-proficient with your armor means that you aren't used to how it affects your movement, and therefore it will also interfere with the actual aiming of the ray.

A Stilled spell has no Somatic component, thus there are no gestures for the armor to interfere with. However, there is still the matter of aiming the ray, and the armor still makes it difficult to properly aim (without having been trained in how to compensate for the restricted movement of the armor).

Note that armor only interferes with spells that actually require an attack roll and thus require the caster to actually aim a ray/beam/spray/bolt at a target. Spells that automatically target any foe to which the mage has Light-of-Sight/Effect, such as Magic Missile and Hold Person, aren't affected by the armor's "aim interference" property. Therefore, a Stilled version of such spells suffers no penalties at all, even when cast in armor with which the mage is unproficient.

On the subject of a paralyzed mage casting spells, this is my take:

A paralyzed mage can cast a Stilled, Silent spell, but he cannot cast one that requires an attack roll, any more than the paralyzed mage can fire his crossbow. Chill Touch requires a touch attack which a paralyzed mage cannot deliver, and thus the charge simply remains until the mage regains movement. Spells such as Acid Orb require a ranged touch attack which the paralyzed mage cannot properly aim, and thus the spell fizzles.
 


Lord Pendragon said:
A Stilled spell has no Somatic component, thus there are no gestures for the armor to interfere with. However, there is still the matter of aiming the ray, and the armor still makes it difficult to properly aim (without having been trained in how to compensate for the restricted movement of the armor).

...

On the subject of a paralyzed mage casting spells, this is my take:

A paralyzed mage can cast a Stilled, Silent spell, but he cannot cast one that requires an attack roll, any more than the paralyzed mage can fire his crossbow. Chill Touch requires a touch attack which a paralyzed mage cannot deliver, and thus the charge simply remains until the mage regains movement. Spells such as Acid Orb require a ranged touch attack which the paralyzed mage cannot properly aim, and thus the spell fizzles.

Yes, it's your take. Never read anything yet like this.

As far as I remember, casting a spell with no somatic component at all does not require any free hand. You can apply Still Spell to a ray.

By the rules, I agree you must apply the penalty to the attack. I also agree with the threadstarter that is makes little sense, but I think the opposite wouldn't make better sense either. Nowhere I have read of what exactly is "attacking with a ray", if it needs you to fake throwing something or not, but if someone came up with the idea of shooting a ray from the eyes, I couldn't really negate it...

What do you think about a Stilled Touch attack instead? That should be easier, a touch attack is clearly done with your hand. Or not?
 



Keep in mind, too, that many of the rules exist for balance reasons.

Trying to make everything make sense is an exercise in futility. On the other hand, in a magical world one can come up with an explanation for anything.

Armor check penalties apply to attack rolls. End of story. Deal with it.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top