Dragonwriter
First Post
HM, quick rules-thing... Given how I'm low on 1st-level slots, but have a few 2nd-levels (and only one 2nd-level known), I was looking at this particular piece of rules:
Seeing as it says "spellcaster" and not "wizard" (even though it is under Preparing Wizard Spells), would you rule a spontaneous caster (like a Duskblade) can perform the same feat?
Essentially, this is Heighten Spell without the DC boost (or casting time increase). It would seem quite unfair to spontaneous casters (who already tend to get the short end of the stick) to not let them have the little extra versatility this provides (at the expense of power)...
I'd just like to know before I start using 2nd-level slots to fuel 1st-level spells, only to get told "doesn't work that way" (especially since I've been in other games where it does work that way).
SRD said:Spell Slots
The various character class tables show how many spells of each level a character can cast per day. These openings for daily spells are called spell slots. A spellcaster always has the option to fill a higher-level spell slot with a lower-level spell. A spellcaster who lacks a high enough ability score to cast spells that would otherwise be his or her due still gets the slots but must fill them with spells of lower level.
Seeing as it says "spellcaster" and not "wizard" (even though it is under Preparing Wizard Spells), would you rule a spontaneous caster (like a Duskblade) can perform the same feat?
Essentially, this is Heighten Spell without the DC boost (or casting time increase). It would seem quite unfair to spontaneous casters (who already tend to get the short end of the stick) to not let them have the little extra versatility this provides (at the expense of power)...
I'd just like to know before I start using 2nd-level slots to fuel 1st-level spells, only to get told "doesn't work that way" (especially since I've been in other games where it does work that way).
