D&D 5E Paladin Mount - Is he a bag of holding ?

Amatiel

Explorer
Ok. your pally has his find steed spell and summons his warhorse. Then he loads it up with a cople of packsaddles and basically uses it as a portable bag of holding? Does that work? Does all the gear the steed is equipped with disappear with the mount and return, or does it all just fall to the dirt when the mount vanishes ?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Ok. your pally has his find steed spell and summons his warhorse. Then he loads it up with a cople of packsaddles and basically uses it as a portable bag of holding? Does that work? Does all the gear the steed is equipped with disappear with the mount and return, or does it all just fall to the dirt when the mount vanishes ?

Haha!! Someone's got a crafty player at their table! Now I have to go look this up. My guess is I'd say 'fall to the dirt'.

Edit: So i would say that the mount returns to its plane with what it came with. I'd give it decent saddles or whatever and maybe bags but if dismissed it leaves all items behind. Ultimately it's a DM call to me and if it doesn't really break your game you could totally just roll with it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Last edited:

Ok. your pally has his find steed spell and summons his warhorse. Then he loads it up with a cople of packsaddles and basically uses it as a portable bag of holding? Does that work? Does all the gear the steed is equipped with disappear with the mount and return, or does it all just fall to the dirt when the mount vanishes ?

I would say yes. but only nonliving things except the horse it self. and it should be equiped properly, in it's strength capacity to carry that.
 

My player asked me about this when he got a saddle of the chevalier and horseshoes of speed. Having to carry it about (not to mention barding) when the mount is gone would be VERY inconvenient. I have ruled that items for the mount (saddle, horseshoes, barding, etc.) would go with the mount, but anything else would be left behind.
 


It seems quite ok for me to use the Find Steed spell as some kind of Bag of Holding. The mount will come with some basic equipment to ride it and saddle bags definitely fall under that category. Putting items in the saddle bags seems fine; they will stay in the saddle bags even if the mount is dismissed. This is quite usual for spells that teleport or moce things to a different plane. Also, spells that change shape or form (Druid shapeshift or spells like Polymorph) usually indicate that worn or carried items are included in the new form (either usable or merged) so that when the ability ends the items are still on the person. Most likely this is to make it simpler (when Polymorph ends you will return to your original shape preserving its original state in terms of weapon in hand, armour worn etc).

This would lead me to conclude it will also work this way for the Find Steed spell.

Note that ruling it this way isn't particularly gamebreaking or imbalancing the game; most DM's seem to hand wave carrying capacity anyway if the players don't heavily abuse it. And a Bag of Holding will ultimately do exactly the same; as a DM i tend to hand out a Bag of Holding quite soon (3d level or so) to a party so that there is actually an excuse to hand wave carrying capacity.
 

Heh! I'm of two minds on this. On the one hand, it feels a little exploitative - only a bag of holding should be a bag of holding. But on the other hand, the horse still has a carrying limit, and there's only so much they can do with that. In the end, I think as long as they didn't abuse it by doing things like trying to store 17 halberds or a boat, sure, why not.
 

In case of emergency, just feed the warhorse all your treasure. Chances are that the magic and metal will survive inside, any extra-dimensional business with allow for better preservation, and waiting for it all to "pass" when the horse comes back will still have the goods in just the same sort of filthy condition that stuff from an ancient neglected dungeon in the first place!

(in case of dire necessity, warhorse pinata?)
 

Heh! I'm of two minds on this. On the one hand, it feels a little exploitative - only a bag of holding should be a bag of holding. But on the other hand, the horse still has a carrying limit, and there's only so much they can do with that. In the end, I think as long as they didn't abuse it by doing things like trying to store 17 halberds or a boat, sure, why not.

not to mention that if you need anything you must cast the ritual again to get the horse back, while "bag of holding" is only "object interaction" or at most Action away.
 

not to mention that if you need anything you must cast the ritual again to get the horse back, while "bag of holding" is only "object interaction" or at most Action away.

Yes. Treating the steer from the Find Steed spell as a Bag of Holding has advantages but also disadvantages. For one, the spell takes 10 minutes to cast.
 

Remove ads

Top