Polymorph (Monk/Troll Flurry and equipment) questions

Ninja-to said:
What are the rules on mixing exactly? Or better yet, where are they found?

I think you can find them in the MM, and probably the DMG.

Alternatively, you can get them from the SRD here:

http://www.wizards.com/d20/files/v35/TypesSubtypesAbilities.rtf

And, specifically, here, in the second paragraph:

SRD said:
Manufactured Weapons: Some monsters employ manufactured weapons when they attack. Creatures that use swords, bows, spears, and the like follow the same rules as characters, including those for additional attacks from a high base attack bonus and two-weapon fighting penalties. This category also includes “found items,” such as rocks and logs, that a creature wields in combat— in essence, any weapon that is not intrinsic to the creature.

Some creatures combine attacks with natural and manufactured weapons when they make a full attack. When they do so, the manufactured weapon attack is considered the primary attack unless the creature’s description indicates otherwise and any natural weapons the creature also uses are considered secondary natural attacks. These secondary attacks do not interfere with the primary attack as attacking with an off-hand weapon does, but they take the usual –5 penalty (or –2 with the Multiattack feat) for such attacks, even if the natural weapon used is normally the creature’s primary natural weapon.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Ah thanks.

So a troll using a sword in one hand still gets one claw attack? Or does it matter whether the sword is held on one hand or not?
 

Ninja-to said:
Ah thanks.

So a troll using a sword in one hand still gets one claw attack? Or does it matter whether the sword is held on one hand or not?

Correct - unless it's a two-handed sword, of course, or he's using it in two hands to get a better strength bonus! :)
 


Rules of the Game
is not
RAW

Mr Williams, although I'm sure a fine individual, fails to read his own rules when answering questions *Most of the time.
Ambrus said:
Check out the four Rules of the Game Article by Skip Williams concerning the Polymorphing/Wild Shape/Alternate Form abilities on the Wizards of the Coast site:http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20040525a
It should hopefully answer most questions on the topic.



Sorry, but I believe you're wrong. Check out the above link.

"In general, a change from one form that has a humanoid shape to another form that has a humanoid shape leaves all equipment in place and functioning. The subject's equipment changes to match the assumed form. It becomes the appropriate size for the assumed form and it fits the assumed form. The spellcaster can change minor details in your equipment, such as color, surface texture, and decoration."
 

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
I think you can find them in the MM, and probably the DMG.

Alternatively, you can get them from the SRD here:

http://www.wizards.com/d20/files/v35/TypesSubtypesAbilities.rtf

And, specifically, here, in the second paragraph:

That was just the quote I was looking for. Thanks Stupid me I looked under Natural Weapons
I did get this tid bit from it, but that's all. Using natural attacks in conjunction with a Primay (manufactured) weapon. so a monk/troll, could Unarmed strike(+6)/Unarmed strike(+1)/Claw(+1)/Claw(+1)/Bite(+1) as monks can use hands/feet interchangebly.-which is why monks with longspears are great.

srd said:
Natural Weapons:


. . .
The primary weapon is given in the creature’s Attack entry, and the primary weapon or weapons is given first in the creature’s Full Attack entry. A creature’s primary natural weapon is its most effective natural attack, usually by virtue of the creature’s physiology, training, or innate talent with the weapon. An attack with a primary natural weapon uses the creature’s full attack bonus. [font=&quot]Attacks with secondary natural weapons are less effective and are made with a –5 penalty on the attack roll, no matter how many there are. [/font] (Creatures with the Multiattack feat take only a –2 penalty on secondary attacks.) This penalty applies even when the creature makes a single attack with the secondary weapon as part of the attack action or as an attack of opportunity. . . .
 

Remove ads

Top