Polymorph (Monk/Troll Flurry and equipment) questions

fujaiwei said:
They said no flurry + natural attacks. But, it's possible to attack twice (+6/+1) then claw/claw/bite/rend, right? This makes Polymorph extremely buff, does it not?

Yes, thats right, as long as the 'attack twice' is with unarmed strikes. Better yet, there is no penalty to the unarmed strikes. The claws and bites would all be considered secondary attacks (so at -5 and half strength bonus).

And yes polymorph is a very nice buff.


glass.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Check out the four Rules of the Game Article by Skip Williams concerning the Polymorphing/Wild Shape/Alternate Form abilities on the Wizards of the Coast site:http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20040525a
It should hopefully answer most questions on the topic.

Originally posted by dcollins
Polymorphed equipment doesn't grow, so it would have to meld into the new form.

Sorry, but I believe you're wrong. Check out the above link.

"In general, a change from one form that has a humanoid shape to another form that has a humanoid shape leaves all equipment in place and functioning. The subject's equipment changes to match the assumed form. It becomes the appropriate size for the assumed form and it fits the assumed form. The spellcaster can change minor details in your equipment, such as color, surface texture, and decoration."
 

fujaiwei said:
Oh, I forgot something - for this last situation to work, the monk would need to be carrying around a large sized kama, right? Because weapons don't resize. So, the most likely situation would be to attack with claw/claw/bite/rend or a flurry of blows. Unless the monk carried around a large-sized weapon...

The monk doesn't need the kama, in fact he is better off without it as he get one extra attack from the claws (and in the case of a troll, can potentially rend) if he uses unarmed strikes.


glass.
 

Ambrus said:
Check out the four Rules of the Game Article by Skip Williams concerning the Polymorphing/Wild Shape/Alternate Form abilities on the Wizards of the Coast site:http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20040525a
It should hopefully answer most questions on the topic.

You can certinly get answers on a whole host of subjects from the RotG articles. They just won't always be the right answers. If you wnat those, you are better of asking here! :)

Ambrus said:
Sorry, but I believe you're wrong. Check out the above link.

"In general, a change from one form that has a humanoid shape to another form that has a humanoid shape leaves all equipment in place and functioning. The subject's equipment changes to match the assumed form. It becomes the appropriate size for the assumed form and it fits the assumed form. The spellcaster can change minor details in your equipment, such as color, surface texture, and decoration."

There have been numerous versions of the Polymorph spell over the years, and several of them have included clauses like the one described above. Unfortunately, the version currently in the PHB/SRD is not one of them.


glass.
 

glass said:
No penalties, he just can't do it. You can't use natural weapons in a flurry because they are not unarmed attacks or special monk weapons.


glass.

I didn't mean in a flurry. I meant what is the penalty of the natural attacks *after* the flurry?
 


Patryn of Elvenshae said:
He can't use them.

They're not available this round.

That's what I thought. But he can do two unarmed strikes plus a bite...

*Anlion (Lizardfolk Form):* Male half-elf sorcerer 8; CR 8; Medium humanoid (reptilian); HD 8d4+8; hp 28; Init +0; Spd 30 ft.; AC 17, touch 11, flat-footed 17; Base Atk +4; Grp +5; Atk +5 melee (1d4+1, claw) or +5 melee (1d6+1, quarterstaff) or +5 ranged (1d8/19-20, masterwork light crossbow); Full Atk +5 melee (1d4+1, 2 claws) and +0 melee (1d4, bite) *or +5 melee (1d6+1, quarterstaff) and +0 melee (1d4, bite) *or +5 ranged (1d8/19-20, masterwork light crossbow); SQ hold breath; AL N; SV Fort +5, Ref +4, Will +8; Str 13, Dex 10, Con 13, Int 12, Wis 10, Cha 17.

From the WoTC site. It seems that whatever limbs hold weapons are used up, but remaining natural attacks are still available.
 

Ninja-to said:
That's what I thought. But he can do two unarmed strikes plus a bite...

He can freely mix natural attacks in with his monk attacks during a normal full-attack (so long as he obeys all the rules on mixing).

He many *not* do this when he uses Flurry of Blows.
 

Ambrus said:
Sorry, but I believe you're wrong. Check out the above link.

Of course you're correct that that ROTG article shows an example of someone polymorphing into a troll and still using all their equipment (at the bottom). I honestly don't see that in the actual spell description.
 

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
He can freely mix natural attacks in with his monk attacks during a normal full-attack (so long as he obeys all the rules on mixing).

He many *not* do this when he uses Flurry of Blows.

What are the rules on mixing exactly? Or better yet, where are they found?
 

Remove ads

Top