Power Attack and Natural Weapons

Marimmar@Home

First Post
In one of my last sessions I attacked the party with a dragon. A dragon's tail deals 1.5 x STR bonus damage. Does this mean that it is treated like a two-handed weapon for Power Attack purposes? Same question for monsters with but a single attack who deal 1.5 x STR bonus damage.

~Marimmar
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Strictly, no... but it's not a bad house rule :)

The tail slap doesn't reference Power Attack at all, and Power Attack only adds double damage with a two-handed weapon, or a one-handed weapon wielded in two hands. A tail slap is neither.

-Hyp.
 

Okay, I ruled the same way back then but wanted to make shure by getting other opinions. The dragon's tail scared the heck out my players anyway. :)

Thanx!

~Marimmar
 
Last edited:

The tail slap doesn't reference Power Attack at all, and Power Attack only adds double damage with a two-handed weapon, or a one-handed weapon wielded in two hands. A tail slap is neither.

Unless I'm mistaken, natural weapons are treated as light, yes? Which in 3.5 would mean no power attack at all.
 



Remove ads

Top