Q:Cleric spell preperation.

Shin Okada

Explorer
From SRD:

Time of Day: A divine spellcaster chooses and prepares spells ahead of time, just as a wizard does. However, a divine spellcaster does not require a period of rest to prepare spells. Instead, the character chooses a particular part of the day to pray and receive spells. The time is usually associated with some daily event. If some event prevents a character from praying at the proper time, he must do so as soon as possible. If the character does not stop to pray for spells at the first opportunity, he must wait until the next day to prepare spells.

So indeed, can a cleric "leave some spell slots open" and fill that slot in the later, like a wizard do? Or Not? Are there any clear rule clarification for it?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Shin Okada said:
So indeed, can a cleric "leave some spell slots open" and fill that slot in the later, like a wizard do? Or Not? Are there any clear rule clarification for it?

Anyone who prepares spells can leave some slots open for later preparation. The PHB and SRD seems to me quite clear that it is a general rule, and I see no reason why it shouldn't be...
 

I don't think divine casters can leave slots open. The way the text reads if the cleric leaves slots unfilled and had ample opportunity to fill them during their regular prayer time "...he must wait until the next day to prepare spells."
 

Liquidsabre said:
I don't think divine casters can leave slots open. The way the text reads if the cleric leaves slots unfilled and had ample opportunity to fill them during their regular prayer time "...he must wait until the next day to prepare spells."

Praying for spells and preparing spells are two different things in 3e.

The text quoted above is only about the daily need for the cleric to worship her deity. If she doesn't worship it daily, she gets no spellcasting powers as a general rule of thumb. The prayers have a role equivalent to the wizard's rest/sleep, in the sense that without that there is no "power" to prepare spells, but the option to leave slots open is a separate topic and the relevant part is next in the SRD to what Shin quoted above:

Spell Selection and Preparation: A divine spellcaster selects and prepares spells ahead of time through prayer and meditation at a particular time of day. The time required to prepare spells is the same as it is for a wizard (1 hour), as is the requirement for a relatively peaceful environment. A divine spellcaster does not have to prepare all his spells at once. However, the character’s mind is considered fresh only during his or her first daily spell preparation, so a divine spellcaster cannot fill a slot that is empty because he or she has cast a spell or abandoned a previously prepared spell.

The bold sentence points out that she can prepare part of her spells at a different time during the day. The explanation of how to do that is not repeated here, but there's no reason to believe it would be different than how it was explained for the wizard...
 


Hmm. So my cleric with Magic Domain can use a Wand of Raly's Mnemonic Enhancer and prepare 3 levels of spells in the middle of a day? That seems to be a good trick.
 


Shin Okada said:
Hmm. So my cleric with Magic Domain can use a Wand of Raly's Mnemonic Enhancer and prepare 3 levels of spells in the middle of a day? That seems to be a good trick.

If he were able to prepare Wizard spells, then sure.

In other words, no. Rary's Mnemonic Enhancer is for Wizards only- even if another class found some way to cast it, only a Wizard could get the benefit from it. At least, that's how any DM with half a mind left would interperet it.
 

UltimaGabe said:
If he were able to prepare Wizard spells, then sure.

In other words, no. Rary's Mnemonic Enhancer is for Wizards only- even if another class found some way to cast it, only a Wizard could get the benefit from it. At least, that's how any DM with half a mind left would interperet it.

Hi!

Why?

A full mind lets you detect the text of the Granted Power of the Magic Domain in the PHB, p. 188 which reads as folllows: "Use scrolls, wands, and other devices with spell completion or spell trigger activation as a wizard of one-half your cleric level (at least 1st level)." This is very clear I think. You even could cast this spell from a scroll.

Kind regards
 

UltimaGabe said:
If he were able to prepare Wizard spells, then sure.

In other words, no. Rary's Mnemonic Enhancer is for Wizards only- even if another class found some way to cast it, only a Wizard could get the benefit from it. At least, that's how any DM with half a mind left would interperet it.

Hmm?

I like to think I'm a DM with half a mind left, and it looks to me like it would work just fine.

'Wizard spells' are not specified. I could see not allowing the cleric to use it to prepare 0 level spells, since it's not stated how orisons should be treated (only cantrips), but his 1st, 2nd, and 3rd level spells should work just fine.

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top