[Q] Does Holy Avenger do extra damage for non-weapon attacks?

The property for Holy Avenger states that it does an extra 1d10 radiant damage when the power you use to make the attack has the Radiant keyword.

Does this apply even if the power you are using doesn't actually use the Holy Avenger physically?

For example, if a Paladin with a Holy Avenger casts Divine Reverence (which has the Divine, Implement and Radiant keywords) do you still add the 1d10 from the Holy Avenger?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Yes, because a Holy Avenger can also be used as an holy symbol and as an implement for paladins.

Edit: But you would not gain its weapon proficiency bonus for attack rolls, if you are using it in that way.

Source: Holy Avenger description (PHB, page 234) and Paladin class features (PHB, page 90; right side "Holy Avenger")
 
Last edited:

TimeOut said:
Edit: But you would not gain its enhancement bonus for attack rolls, if you are using it in that way.

Source: Holy Avenger description (PHB, page 234) and Paladin class features (PHB, page 90; right side "Holy Avenger")
The note under "Special" on PBH page 234 says that you do get the enhancement bonus to attack and damage rolls when using it as a holy symbol, but the weapon proficiency bonus (e.g., +3 for a longsword) does not apply.
 


Ah thanks.

I assume this is specifically because of the Implement keyword.

There aren't any Paladin powers with the Radiant keyword but neither the Weapon nor the Implement keywords. If there was such a power, I imagine the bonus would NOT apply. But it's a moot point, since there are no such powers. :)
 

Are there non-paladin powers that use the radiant key word but not the weapon or implement key words? I am thinking about multi-classing paladins here.

Oh yeah, I found one: The Solar Wrath power in the Cleric's Radiant Servant Paragon Path. Radiant but no weapon or implement.
 

Particle_Man said:
Oh yeah, I found one: The Solar Wrath power in the Cleric's Radiant Servant Paragon Path. Radiant but no weapon or implement.

Which may in fact be an error. I don't remember what the Attack is on that (Probably Wisdom vs. Fort/Ref/Will), but if you cannot add your implement bonus to attack/damage on the power, it probably won't scale too well.
 

I also found this in the PHB:

"When you’re wielding a holy avenger, all your radiant powers deal extra damage when you use the weapon to deliver them."

So I assume if you are NOT using the weapon to deliver the radiant damage, you don't get to add the bonus.
 

A related question.

If I'm a Wizard of the Spiral Tower and I have a +6 vorpal longsword, which effects (if any) from the vorpal description apply to my Meteor Swarm? Specifically, is my spell damage dice from this weapon (so it explodes) and if I hit did I hit with this weapon (so I can use the daily)? What about if I crit, do I add 6d12? Or do I only get +6 to-hit and +6 damage and nothing else?
 

GoodKingJayIII said:
Which may in fact be an error. I don't remember what the Attack is on that (Probably Wisdom vs. Fort/Ref/Will), but if you cannot add your implement bonus to attack/damage on the power, it probably won't scale too well.

It is indeed an error. The Errata that came out Wednesday says to put Implement in the keywords for Solar Wrath.
 

Remove ads

Top