q2: am I understanding burst/blast right

In Basilsks it reads this

BASILISK

Area burst 1 within 10; +15 vs. Fortitude; 2d6 poison damage,
and ongoing 5 poison damage (save ends). As long as the target is
taking ongoing poison damage from this attack, the target deals
2 poison damage to all creatures adjacent to it at the start of its
turn

If I read this right it can shoot poison from it's eyes up to ten squares away and once the origin square is chosen, it would be a 3x3 block of effect and the origin square is included? +15 to the d20 vs Fortitude

Stone-Eye Basilisk

Close blast 3; +17 vs. Fortitude; the target is slowed (save ends).
First Failed Saving Throw: The target is immobilized (save ends).
Second Failed Saving Throw: The target is petrifi ed (no save).

This blast reads: origin square is where the creature located and is a 3x3 block effect (origin square is not effected) So basically anyone adjacent to the creature could be harmed? +17 vs. Fortitude.

Is that correct? Thanks again in advance
LB
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I would like to correct the second part: This blast reads: origin square is where the creature located and is a 6x6 block effect (origin square is not effected)+17 vs. Fortitude.
 

In Basilsks it reads this

BASILISK

Area burst 1 within 10; +15 vs. Fortitude; 2d6 poison damage,
and ongoing 5 poison damage (save ends). As long as the target is
taking ongoing poison damage from this attack, the target deals
2 poison damage to all creatures adjacent to it at the start of its
turn

If I read this right it can shoot poison from it's eyes up to ten squares away and once the origin square is chosen, it would be a 3x3 block of effect and the origin square is included? +15 to the d20 vs Fortitude
Correct. And a "close burst" (instead of an "area burst") would have the creature as the origin square.

Stone-Eye Basilisk

Close blast 3; +17 vs. Fortitude; the target is slowed (save ends).
First Failed Saving Throw: The target is immobilized (save ends).
Second Failed Saving Throw: The target is petrifi ed (no save).

This blast reads: origin square is where the creature located and is a 3x3 block effect (origin square is not effected) So basically anyone adjacent to the creature could be harmed? +17 vs. Fortitude.

Is that correct? Thanks again in advance
LB
Almost. The 3x3 block is placed adjacent to the creature, not on top of it.

Bursts/blasts was one of the things I really found confusing when I first read the rules. They have similar names and similar effects, but calculate the size of the area differently (bursts count the radius distance, blasts count the diameter).
 

Okay, cool. So a blast will always be adjacent to the creature/npc/pc? Unless it is an area blast (or is that impossible to have an area blast?) close blast 3 is not 6x6 because it is not including where the creature is but in front of it So there for it is 3x3?

Yes it was confusing to me as well.
LB
 




You guys have been a huge help to me and having quick references to the rule like shotgun blast/flamethrowers and grenades are the kind of things we need in this game to help keep it to memory.

I am sure I'll be posting a lot here in the next few weeks. My game will start in like three weeks and I just want combat to go smoothly. Finding rules during combat is going to suck for two young boys. I want them to run with the fantasy not say, "This feels like School work. "

In the end if I have an issue, I'll go on instinct and improvise, give them the opportunity rather than stop the action to figure it out. I'd rather do that and then later reference it and be ready for the next time.
 


Remove ads

Top