Question about Combat Challange

sunbear

Explorer
In KotS the fighters combat challenge states the following: In addition, whenever an enemy is adjacent to you shifts or makes an attack that does not include you, you can make a melee basic attack against that enemy as an immediate interrupt.

Does this mean that he is allowed to do this to any enemy that is adjacent to him or just the enemy he had marked?

Another question: Is the immediate interrupt basic attack that the fighter takes to hit a shifting or attacking enemy counted towards the total immediate actions he can have in one round? (Which is one, according to pg 4 of the quick start rules)

It seems to me that he is allowed to hit an enemy, but can only do so once per round. This kind of limits the fighter but I'm sure there is a feat that allows a character more then one immediate action in a round (ie Combat Reflexes).


Any help would be appreciated. And I apologize if this has been covered somewhere else, these boards are pretty big and they move amazingly fast, its very hard to keep up.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

sunbear said:
In KotS the fighters combat challenge states the following: In addition, whenever an enemy is adjacent to you shifts or makes an attack that does not include you, you can make a melee basic attack against that enemy as an immediate interrupt.

Does this mean that he is allowed to do this to any enemy that is adjacent to him or just the enemy he had marked?
Any enemy. See below.
sunbear said:
Another question: Is the immediate interrupt basic attack that the fighter takes to hit a shifting or attacking enemy counted towards the total immediate actions he can have in one round? (Which is one, according to pg 4 of the quick start rules)

It seems to me that he is allowed to hit an enemy, but can only do so once per round. This kind of limits the fighter but I'm sure there is a feat that allows a character more then one immediate action in a round (ie Combat Reflexes).
Yes. It's explicitly an immediate interrupt and is subject to all rules regarding immediate actions.
 
Last edited:

1) Only the marked enemy. That just came to light yesterday, I'll see if I can find the link for ya.

2) I do believe it does indeed count toward your immediate action. Not to be confused with OAs, where you're limited to one per enemy who provokes. At least, by my understanding.

Edit: Link goodness.

http://forums.gleemax.com/showthread.php?t=1033538

Post #24 has the Word from On High, but I included the whole thread so you could see the context, since the content of post 24 is rather... sparse.
 
Last edited:


Boarstorm said:
1) Only the marked enemy. That just came to light yesterday, I'll see if I can find the link for ya.

2) I do believe it does indeed count toward your immediate action. Not to be confused with OAs, where you're limited to one per enemy who provokes. At least, by my understanding.

Edit: Link goodness.

http://forums.gleemax.com/showthread.php?t=1033538

Post #24 has the Word from On High, but I included the whole thread so you could see the context, since the content of post 24 is rather... sparse.
Oooooh. Haven't seen that before, thx.
 



Boarstorm said:
1) Only the marked enemy. That just came to light yesterday, I'll see if I can find the link for ya.

2) I do believe it does indeed count toward your immediate action. Not to be confused with OAs, where you're limited to one per enemy who provokes. At least, by my understanding.

Edit: Link goodness.

http://forums.gleemax.com/showthread.php?t=1033538

Post #24 has the Word from On High, but I included the whole thread so you could see the context, since the content of post 24 is rather... sparse.
I think that ticks me off more than anything I've seen about 4e so far. I hope the PHB phrases it the way they intended it to be played, but if it says exactly what KotS says, then I'm sorry, Logan is flat-out wrong. Being a designer doesn't give you the right to re-interpret the rules to say what you think they should mean rather than what actually got printed. Errata can do that, but your word alone can't.

Even if the PHB's wording does reflect what Logan said, it still means that KotS contains wording that is just wrong. I'm glad I don't buy adventures; between this and the material that was omitted for space reasons, this really seems like a shoddy product.
 

MindWanderer said:
Even if the PHB's wording does reflect what Logan said, it still means that KotS contains wording that is just wrong.

Which they've come out and said is a possibility in many cases. KotS is a preview of the rules. Things may have changed at the last minute. In addition, they've said that a few of the rules in KotS were deliberately simplified for "quick-play" use.
 

It's under the Combat Challenge header. Without a new header, it should be assumed that it's still part of the Combat Challenge mechanic.

Paragraph breaks do not make a new header.

-TRRW
 

Remove ads

Top