Question about Combat Challange

Mouseferatu said:
Yes he did. While both take your move action, a "shift" and a normal "move" aren't the same thing. The player should be telling the DM which he's doing under any circumstances.

Yeah, you can't actually do this. It's not like attacks in 3E, where you could make your first attack and then decide whether you wanted to finish out a full attack action or use a move action, it's like the difference between declaring a 5-foot step and a move in 3E. You can't start one action, then retroactively change to another.

Also, if it was a normal move, the player is even worse off because he provoked an OA, and the fighter's attack stops him before he moves away, leaving him adjacent to the fighter. If we assume the character in question already used his standard action, "switching" to a move would leave him with no way to escape, whereas the shifter has at least escaped melee range with the fighter.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

OK. I think I've got it.

Can I ask a two related questions?

[sblock=KotS Spoilers]

1. A follow up to the shift~=move.

Dragonshield Tactics
...when an enemy moves adjacent or... shifts away...
So if an enemy shifts adjacent (from a point that was originally non-adjacent) then does Dragonshield Tactics trigger?

2. Immediates actions pre-empting other immediate actions.
I've seen it written somewhere that you can't interrupt an interrupt. I.e. an immediate action can't trigger another immediate action.

Example: Another character moves to a position adjacent to a Kobold Dragonshield that's marked by Kathra (i.e. a fighter with combat superiority). Dragonshield Tactics "triggers" after the move and the KD shifts away as an immediate reaction (before the other character can attack).
If the KD were shifting normally then Kathra would get a chance to AoO/shift block (immediate interrupt) but because the KD shift from Dragonshield tactics is already an immediate action it can't be pre-empted by another immediate action, right?

Otherwise having a great time with KotS![/sblock]
 

Kordeth said:
Two things: 1) A creature affected by an ability always knows what that ability does, so yes, the creature knows that, if it is marked, it will get smacked if it shifts away.

2) You're conflating two different abilities. When a fighter makes an opportunity attack provoked by movement, he stops the target in its tracks if he hits. If a marked opponent shifts away from the fighter, the fighter gets a melee basic attack as an immediate reaction. An immediate attack is not an opportunity attack, so people who shift away from a fighter are not stopped. The shifting character gets hit by an attack, but still completes his shift after the attack resolves (assuming the attack didn't kill him or some such thing).

That's the way it was done at DDXP, but not in KotS.

So, do fighters stop opponents from moving with OAs?
 

(Psi)SeveredHead said:
That's the way it was done at DDXP, but not in KotS.

So, do fighters stop opponents from moving with OAs?

Given the number of rules that were cut from KotS for space or simplicity, I'm inclined to say probably, yes.
 

(Psi)SeveredHead said:
That's the way it was done at DDXP, but not in KotS.

So, do fighters stop opponents from moving with OAs?

It might be a matter of fighting style. Sword and Board fighters stop enemies when they move. Two handed fighters get free attacks when enemies swing at their allies.
 


Remove ads

Top