Question about holding a charge

Lamoni

First Post
When you cast a touch spell and are holding the charge, is it dissipated as soon as anything touches you? Or can you continue to hold it for a specific target?

For example, I cast Otto's irresistable dance, the cleric touches me to heal me, then I run to the monster to touch it. Does that work? Or would the cleric start dancing as soon as he healed me?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

If you are holding the charge, then you refer to the rule: "If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges." Note that you must touch anything or someone. You do not cause the spell to be discharged on the cleric for touching you. Note that if you did discharge the spell thusly, then you wouldn't need to attack your opponent, you could just wait till they attacked you (with natural weapons or unarmed strikes of course). And that if they attacked you with a weapon (e.g. sword), then the spell would discharge harmlessly. Man, that would suck as an interpretation.
 

Lamoni said:
When you cast a touch spell and are holding the charge, is it dissipated as soon as anything touches you?
No. It discharges only if you touch something.

Beware of overly literal interpretations that would result in all Touch spells immediately discharging into one's own clothing. :)
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top