• NOW LIVE! -- One-Page Adventures for D&D 5th Edition on Kickstarter! A booklet of colourful one-page adventures for D&D 5th Edition ranging from levels 1-9 and designed for a single session of play.
log in or register to remove this ad

 

Quick Beholder Question

Stoat

Adventurer
The bog standard level 9 beholder has the following power as a triggered action:

Random Eye * Ray At-Will
Trigger: The beholder is conscious and an enemy starts its turn within 5 squares of it.
Effect (No Action): The beholder uses one random eye ray against the triggering enemy.

Am I correct that the beholder can use this power multiple times per round? In other words: paladin starts his turn, zap! rogue starts his turn, zap! cleric starts his turn, zap!
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Evilhalfling

Adventurer
I have run 1 beholder and fought one beholder in 4e.
Each killed one PC.

Which is about the same lethality as earlier editions. I consider fighting them to be like a russian roulette game withe the party.
 


The bog standard level 9 beholder has the following power as a triggered action:

Random Eye * Ray At-Will
Trigger: The beholder is conscious and an enemy starts its turn within 5 squares of it.
Effect (No Action): The beholder uses one random eye ray against the triggering enemy.

Am I correct that the beholder can use this power multiple times per round? In other words: paladin starts his turn, zap! rogue starts his turn, zap! cleric starts his turn, zap!

Yes. It's not an immediate action (1/turn) or free action (only 1 attack/turn). It's "no action" at-will, so use literally at-will. It's actually worse than an aura in some ways (since the beholder can miss), but of course, it does more damage/has nastier and more unpredictable effects than an aura would.
 

bargle0

First Post
The bog standard level 9 beholder has the following power as a triggered action:

Random Eye * Ray At-Will
Trigger: The beholder is conscious and an enemy starts its turn within 5 squares of it.
Effect (No Action): The beholder uses one random eye ray against the triggering enemy.

Am I correct that the beholder can use this power multiple times per round? In other words: paladin starts his turn, zap! rogue starts his turn, zap! cleric starts his turn, zap!

Yes. It also means the beholder can use Random Eye while stunned, dazed, and dominated. Killing the beholder is always priority #1 at my table, since it's hard to incapacitate them and focus on sweeping up any helpers.
 



An Advertisement

Advertisement4

Top