Quick Q re: OA monk w/ quarterstaff

Dingleberry

First Post
IIRC, OA includes the quartertaff as a monk weapon. Does it expressly state whether a monk using a quarterstaff to flurry gets the extra damage for wielding it in two hands, or is it treated like a double weapon (Str bonus for primary hand, 1/2 Str bonus for off-hand)?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

No, a monk cannot flurry with a quarterstaff. The monk weapon must be light to qualify for flurry. It makes an exception for the three-section staff, another large weapon, but it requires exotic weapon proficiency (three-section staff) in order to flurry.
 


Personally, I let them. They have a choice of using regular two-weapon fighting rules or flurry of blows. They do not stack. It still count as a Large weapon for the purposes of Disarm and Trip attacks.
 

Unfortunately, the upgrade for monks in OA is not as clear as it could have been. This has lead to an apparent ambiguity in the rules.

The Players Handbook clearly states that flurry of blows can be used while armed with a monk special weapon. OA clearly states that the list of monk special weapons includes butterfly sword, club, jitte, kama, lajatang, nekode, nunchaku, quarterstaff, sai, three-section staff, and tonfa. Monks are not initially proficient with lajatang, nekode or three-section staff. The lajatang, quarterstaff and three-section staff are all large weapons.

The apparent ambiguity arises from the statement in the PHB indicating that the monk special weapons must be light. However, let us quote the sentence in full:

"The weapon must be light, so a Small Monk must use Tiny versions of these weapons in order to use the more favorable base attack."

Taking the sentence in context clearly shows that it is defining monk special weapons with regards to small sized monks only! If a monk is proficient with any of the weapons on the special weapon list he can use flurry of blows with that weapon. Common sense would show that even a western (i.e. not OA) monk should be able to use a quarterstaff with FoB.

As far as gaining the strength bonus for using a quarterstaff as a two handed weapon rather than a double weapon, no. Not with flurry of blows. Again, this is from the description of flurry of blows. When weapons are mentioned, it clearly says that if only one is held, the extra attack from FoB is either the weapon or an open hand attack, if two weapons are held, one is used for the normal attacks, the second is used for the extra attack.

However, a mnk using a quarterstaff at his UBAB can elect to use it in a two-handed mode and gain a bonus to his damage. It is only the FoB mode that requires it to be used in a double weapon mode.
 

Pagan priest said:
However, let us quote the sentence in full:

"The weapon must be light, so a Small Monk must use Tiny versions of these weapons in order to use the more favorable base attack."

Taking the sentence in context clearly shows that it is defining monk special weapons with regards to small sized monks only!

Say huh?

The sentence has two clauses. One: "The weapon must be light", applies to all monks. Two: "so a Small monk must use Tiny versions of these weapons etc" is merely an example combining the first rule with the rule about what is a light weapon for a Small monk.

If it was meant to be read as you claim, it would say "The weapon must be light for a small monk."

That said, (and here we get into interpretation) I would allow a quarterstaff to be used as a double weapon with the flurry of blows, as that style of use effectively transforms a single Large weapon into two Small ones.

So, IMO, you can flurry, but you only get 1x Str bonus on either end (and only the single extra attack from flurry).

J
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top