Quick Question - Craft Wonderous Item

Hi Everyone,

Just a quick question to clear up a small amount of confusion:

Can a 3rd level caster craft a +6 headband of intellect with enough xp and gold and the craft wonderous item feat? There seems to be a little confusion in our group regarding pre-requisites and wonderous items.

Best Regards
Herremann the Wise
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Yes, he can.

EDIT:

Note that the base price to do so is 6 * 6 * 1,000gp, or 36,000gp.

Accordingly, it'll cost him 18,000gp in raw materials and 1,440xp. Since he's 3rd level, 1,440xp means he must be roughly halfway to 4th level before he can craft it.
 

Well, it looks like you can.. (thought there would be a restriction like on crafting weapons or armors)

Wonderous items does require 1 or more spells as pre-requisites that gives about the same ability as the item your creating.. I your case an Intelligence Boosting spell (cant even remember if there is any)
 


You have to be caster level 8 to craft any headband of intellect. As noted in the DMG under the description of headband of itellect it says CL8. Then if you cross reference that with magic item description on page 215 it says that the creators caster level must be as high as the items caster level
 

Most confusing part of the D&D rules: several designers disagree on this rule (contradicting each other, the published book, and sometimes themselves).

As published in the DMG in 3.0 & 3.5: caster level is a prerequisite (minimum on creator).
According to several designers and 3.5 DMG errata: wasn't ever a prerequisite.
(But personally I feel that errata item doesn't make sense.)

Full information on my website: http://superdan.net.home.comcast.net/dndfaq2.html
 

Azrael said:
You have to be caster level 8 to craft any headband of intellect. As noted in the DMG under the description of headband of itellect it says CL8. Then if you cross reference that with magic item description on page 215 it says that the creators caster level must be as high as the items caster level

As DCollins said, none of the game designers seem to agree on that. First, they say it's a prerequisite. Then they say it's not a prerequisite. Then they say it is. Then they say it isn't. Personally, that rule makes no sense- by that logic, you have to be a 20th-level caster to make Universal Solvent (you know, the item that costs 50gp). Is that even reasonable? Not only that, but certain parts of the DMG even seem to contradict that rule (or, at least, act as if it's not there)- the Spell Storing weapon quality, for example, specifies that you must be a 10th-level caster in order to make it. But if it's already got a CL 10 entry, and "Caster Level is a prerequisite", why would they need to specify?

As noted, it was fixed in the errata to say that caster level is NOT a prerequisite. However, in the Rules of the Game article regarding magic items, they seemed to overlook that fact, and state that it IS a prerequisite. Wonderful.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top