Quick question: Shimmering Blade, rogue 23 encounter

Davachido

Explorer
Just had a read of this and I just want to get clarification on something. The trigger is "an enemy makes an attack against you, starts/ends it turn adj to you", so if a controller has managed to immobilize 2-3 enemies adj to the rogue and they all make attacks against the rogue, will the rogue thus get off 3 attacks on each enemy? (provided they don't break the immobilize somehow and move away)

I would have thought it only triggers once against each enemy but I don't see anything contradicting the 3 attacks on each.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

It's an encounter power, so I don't see how you can use it more than once without some recharge ability? Unless it's reliable, in which case it would work if you miss.
 

You fall into a 'stance' where you can make a free action attack until the end of turn if the trigger conditions are met. Which seems a little easy when immobilize/restrain comes into play. So it can be used more than once, I'm wondering if it can trigger more than once on the same enemy?

As in is there a rule that says an enemy may only statisfy the trigger once per round or something? I'm asking since a player in my game is looking to take this power at later levels and I'm seeing if its too powerful or not.
 



Dragon 381: Class Acts: The Duelist Rogue.

Thanks.

I really wish they would have specified whether the free action granted was an interrupt or a reaction.

Other than that, it seems straight forward. If an opponent starts next to you, attacks you, and sticks around, you get three free attacks.
 




True, but that doesn't give the DM or the player any guidance as to whether to allow the NPC to finish their triggering attack before allowing the Free action.

That is true of every free action power or feat that acts like an immediate action. As far as I know there are no rules on how to decide whether you should treat it as an interrupt or reaction. It's really annoying.
 

Remove ads

Top