This is another element of items that could use more definition. What do you need to know to use a spell from a ring of spell storing? Just what spell is in there?
For games I run, I think the first thing I would say is that barbarians can not use magical items when asked. That should keep the powergamers down. Then, if it would really save a player's bacon, I would overlook the restriction. If that player did it all the time and it wasn't overpowering, I keep my mouth shut. It it became a problem, or the player wanted a spellcasting class, I would repeat the sage's ruling on item while raging.
None of us are on solid ground regarding item use, except possibly scrolls. Since we all can agree that scroll use is against the idea of rage, it isn't even an issue. Like many things in the game, it is a DM call.
For games I run, I think the first thing I would say is that barbarians can not use magical items when asked. That should keep the powergamers down. Then, if it would really save a player's bacon, I would overlook the restriction. If that player did it all the time and it wasn't overpowering, I keep my mouth shut. It it became a problem, or the player wanted a spellcasting class, I would repeat the sage's ruling on item while raging.
None of us are on solid ground regarding item use, except possibly scrolls. Since we all can agree that scroll use is against the idea of rage, it isn't even an issue. Like many things in the game, it is a DM call.