raise beast companion ritual


log in or register to remove this ad

No. Nothing in the ritual's description says that you have to be trained in Nature, so you don't have to be.

You might be confused because of the Ritual Caster feat, which requires that you be trained in Arcana or Religion before you take the feat.

From the Beastmaster Ranger description:

As part of the training you underwent that allowed you to form a close bond with a beast, you learned the Raise Beast Companion ritual, which allows you to raise your companion from the dead, even if you are otherwise unable to master and perform rituals.

In theory, you could choose to pick Dungeoneering instead of Nature as your Ranger base skill and still be a Beastmaster and skill have the Raise Beast Companion ritual. It wouldn't be very flavorful, perhaps, but I don't see anything in the rules that would prohibit it.
 

Martial Power pg41 said:
Raise Beast Companion
Level: 1
Category: Restoration
Time: 4 hours
Duration: Instantaneous
Component Cost: 50 gp
Market Price: None
Key Skill: Nature (no check)
i was under the impression you needed to have trained the key skill of a ritual, but seeing as ranger gets a choice between nature and dungeoneering i was a bit curious.
 

i was under the impression you needed to have trained the key skill of a ritual, but seeing as ranger gets a choice between nature and dungeoneering i was a bit curious.

As far as I know, you can cast a specific ritual, even without being trained in its key skill. I have not seen anything that says otherwise.
The only requirement for casting a ritual is that you have mastered it (or have it on a scroll) and have the associated components to spend.

That said, being trained in the key skill often helps if a check is involved. But is not required.

I, of course, make no claim to have the rule books memorized. So someone is free to correct me if I'm misremembering something.
 

As far as I know, you can cast a specific ritual, even without being trained in its key skill. I have not seen anything that says otherwise.
The only requirement for casting a ritual is that you have mastered it (or have it on a scroll) and have the associated components to spend.

That said, being trained in the key skill often helps if a check is involved. But is not required.

I, of course, make no claim to have the rule books memorized. So someone is free to correct me if I'm misremembering something.

You are correct, you do not have to be trained in the skill related to a ritual in order to cast it.

The only requirement to cast a ritual is that you have mastered it. Normally you need the ritual caster feat to be able to master a ritual, but many feats or class abilities let you master specific rituals.

Once you have mastered a ritual you can cast it at any time - a lot of rituals don't even need a check (like the raise beast companion one). The skill determines which types of components you need to use.
 

Remove ads

Top