D&D 5E Ranger/druid... advice on how to divide levels an build my character?

Crimlock

First Post
Hi! I decided that I want to play a ranger/druid multiclass character, but I am new to 5th edition. I was wondering how more experianced players would build a ranger/druid. I was thinking the following:

I want my character to be very good with a long sword in melee, i want to be able to wild shape (not for combat, but more for stealth and exploration). Spells are also imporant but not as importent as sword fighting and wild shaping.

I'd start with 2 levels in (moon)druid to get wildshape. Then I'd take 5 levels in hunter ranger to get the extra attack and I will take the dueling style. After those 5 levels I think i want to continue with more druid levels to improve spell casting and wild shape capability. I am not sure how to precede after level 7...

I would like to play a woodelf and for stats I was thinking about STR 15, DEX 15+2, CON 12, INT 8, WIS 13+1, CHA 8. STR, DEX and a avarage CON to be good in melee. The wis I need to be able to multiclass into druid (and i think i need it to be an effective caster).

The first ASI points I will put in STR and DEX. The following I think I will put in CON...

What do you think? What would you change?

CapnZapp

Legend
I think you'd be better off if you simply asked your DM if you could substitute your Ranger subclass for that of Land Druid.

Why? Because you pretty much nailed the concept of a Land Ranger.

(as opposed to, say, a Hunter Ranger or a Range Rover)

Sent from my C6603 using EN World mobile app

jgsugden

Legend