Ranger using CLW wand...

TracerBullet42

Explorer
Can a ranger use a wand of Cure Light Wounds at any level or only at 4th level and above? (4th level being when he gains spellcasting abilities...)

Probably a simple question, but I can't seem to find the answer.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Yup, Patryn has hit Nail on the head (wait, that doesn't sound right).

You just need to have the spell on the list of spells for your class, you don't have to be able to cast it.
 


Patryn of Elvenshae said:
Any level.

In fact, one of the examples given in the rules is of a 1st-level paladin using such a wand.
Thanks...

Is that in the SRD, by any chance? Just wondering if I completely missed it or if it's only in the PHB...
 

Sure! It's in the Magic Items Creation section:

SRD said:
Spell Trigger: Spell trigger activation is similar to spell completion, but it’s even simpler. No gestures or spell finishing is needed, just a special knowledge of spellcasting that an appropriate character would know, and a single word that must be spoken. Anyone with a spell on his or her spell list knows how to use a spell trigger item that stores that spell. (This is the case even for a character who can’t actually cast spells, such as a 3rd-level paladin.) The user must still determine what spell is stored in the item before she can activate it. Activating a spell trigger item is a standard action and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top