Reach and AOO's

Also, remember, moving out of a threatened square will only provoke one AoO. So, if BBEG moves across the spiked chain fighters reach area, he will only provoke one AoO when he leaves his 1st threatened square, no matter how many more threatened squares he moves through that round. So, his movement would only provoke one AoO no matter how many the fighter is allowed each round.

From each oppenent.

You generate 1 AoO for all movement (from that opponent) - you may generate additional AoO from other opponents from movement but only 1 from each.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

it's when they leave the threatened square - unless they take a 5' step. So, if BBEG has a reach weapon and uses his move action to close to 10' from the PC and then attack the PC with his reach weapon, the BBEG could then take a 5 foot step to move to 15 feet away from the PC and not provoke an AoO. Or, he could move to within 5 feet of the PC with a 5 foot step and also not provoke.

However, if the same BBEG did not have a reach weapon and needed to be within 5 feet to attack in melee, the BBEG would provoke an AoO when he closes from 10 feet (a threatened square) to 5 feet because he just left the square 10 feet away.

Ah very interesting! I did not know that it factored in the combatants respective threat areas; that makes a whole lot of sense to me. Thank you again.
 

A little bit off the subject, but also note that when using a reach weapon, you use the ranged weapon rules for cover (and of course someone with cover doesn't provoke an AoO). So this is another case of "moving out of a threatened space doesn't always provoke an AoO."
 

Remove ads

Top