Recent Sage rulings...what in the Nine Hells???

kreynolds

First Post
Found these strange rulings in my inbox this morning. What the heck!?!

How do you resolve a tie on an opposed attack roll? Is it: a) defender always wins, b) attacker always wins, since the defender essentially sets a DC for the attacker’s roll, or c) it follows the rule for opposed skill checks—if so, what do you consider the “key ability” for an attack roll? How do you resolve opposed skill checks if there is a tie between the key abilities?

"Ties" always go to the defender. The defender's roll sets the DC for the attacker, and because of that, the defender can always meet or exceed their own DC, thus they always win.

The “mace of smiting” states that it destroys a construct on a critical hit, but constructs are immune to critical hits. I presume this enchantment is meant to be an exception to the rule that constructs are immune to crits, but that raises other questions. If the mace wielder has the feat Improved Critical, does that improve the threat range to destroy a construct? What happens with other magical weapons with special effects on a critical hit? For example, does a “flaming burst longsword” burst for extra fire damage when you roll a critical vs. a creature immune to critical hits? Are critical immune creatures immune to the sonic burst from the “thundering” enchantment?

Smiting and disruption weapons indeed follow the standard rules for activation upon a critical hit, and because undead and constructs are not subject to critical hits, smiting and disruption weapos never work against them.

Like smiting and disruption weapons, burst weapons rely on confirmed critical hits. If the opponent is not subject to critical hits, burst weapons don't burst.

Skip Williams
RPG R&D





If a barbarian is in the midst of rage and is knocked unconscious, does his rage immediately end when he drops or does he continue to rage while unconscious until the duration of the rage expires?

Neither of the above. A barbarian cannot be knocked unconsious while in a rage.



Hello. Since you can target them normally, does Displacement negate sneak attacks?

No. Contrary to what every other rule in the book says, concealment does not negate sneak attacks in any way.

Skip Williams
RPG R&D





I have a question about damage reduction. If a 20th-level monk attacks a creature with DR 10/+1 with his unarmed strike, he ignores it, both because of his own DR and his ki strike. What if a high-level barbarian hits a creature with his unarmed strike? Does that ignore all DR, none, or some? Note that it does not occur on Table 3-13.

DMG pg 74
"A creature's natural weapons count as wepons of the type that can ignore it's own DR."

since there aren't any weapons that can pass a barbarians DR, they don't bypass any DR.

but

If he can ignore his own, he should be able to ignore other barbarians.

Barbarians can indeed bypass DR. In fact, any creature with a slash after their damage reduction can bypass any other creature's damage reduction. In addition, this unique type of DR also allows them to ignore the hardness of objects, as well as bonuses to Armor Class from force effects.

Skip Williams
RPG R&D





Do speed weapons stack? For example, if you are wielding two speed weapons and you take a full-attack action, do you get the extra attack from both weapons?

No. They do, however, stack with haste. Also, I never said they didn't stack with haste. Whoever said I did is a liar and is going to get a house-call from myself and my Babe Ruth triple-hitter.

Skip Williams
RPG R&D





When a caster attempts to use a scroll, if he fails his caster level check but avoids a mishap, is the scroll used up?

No. Scrolls are only used up if their effects actually take place. For example, if you activate a scroll of fireball, but the fireball misses all the targets on the battlefield and doesn't actually affect anyone, the scroll can be used again.

Does the DC increase from Spell Focus apply just to spells the cast from memory, or does it also apply to spells from spell completion and spell trigger magic items?

Neither.

I ask because Tome & Blood implies that it applies to magic items (School Staffs), but the FAQ says that it doesn't (FAQ page 28).

T&B didn't imply anything. You implied it. Now stop emailing me these stupid questions.

Skip Williams
RPG R&D

That's all for now. I'll see if I can find some more. Sheesh, this is really wierd.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad




aliensex said:
:eek:

ROFLMA! Good job kreynolds! Nice to see April Fool's has invaded the Rules forum as well!:D

Yeah, I thought it was cute too. Here's one that I didn't have time to pop in there...

Can a tiny creature make AoOs against opponents in the same square with it?

Yes, a tiny creature threatens the space it's in. Note, however, that tiny creatures cannot be attacked.

If a tiny creature begins its turn in a square adjacent to its target, so that it only has to move 5' to enter its target's square and attack, does it provoke an AoO by doing so?

Yes. Entering an opponent's square provokes an AoO (it's not the movement that does this it's the act of entering an occupied space.) Note, however, that even though it only has to move 5 feet to enter its target's square, it cannot take a 5-foot step to do so. In preparation for Revised 3.5, 5-foot steps are being banned.

Skip Williams
RPG R&D
 
Last edited:


Well, if the Sage said it, it must be true. I pity the fools who are going to get that visit from him and his Louisville Slugger!! (Yes, I know he said his 'Babe Ruth triple-hitter', but I'm sure that what he meant was his Louisville Slugger.)
 

Christian said:
Well, if the Sage said it, it must be true. I pity the fools who are going to get that visit from him and his Louisville Slugger!! (Yes, I know he said his 'Babe Ruth triple-hitter', but I'm sure that what he meant was his Louisville Slugger.)

I'm pretty sure he really meant "Babe Ruth triple-hitter", but the more I thought about it, the more you seem correct. Seeking clarification, I shot him an email about it...

Skip,

When you said 'Babe Ruth triple-hitter', did you actually mean 'Louisville Slugger'?

No. I meant 'Babe Ruth triple-hitter'. The text of my reply in no way states 'Louisville Slugger', nor does it even elude to any such thing. If I meant 'Louisville Slugger', the text of my reply would have said so.

I assume the latter, as the former is clearly wrong.

See previous answer.

Please help me clear up this confusion.

Ever heard of Sylvan Learning Centers?

Thanks.

See previous answer, and please, look into it.

Skip Williams
RPG R&D
 

I also noticed a discrepancy in Skip's signature at the bottom of his replies and asked him about it. Here's his reply...

Skip,

I noticed that you are signing your replies with "RPG R&D". Isn't it true that you no longer work for the Wizard's of the Coast RPG R&D department?

Yes.

If so, shouldn't your signature say something else?

Probably.

If so, what will your new signature be?

See below.

Skip Williams
STBAWOTC

Hmmm...I wonder what that means.
 

Wondering what Skip's new signature meant, I sent him an email about it. Here's his reply...

Skip,

My gaming group has recently gotten into an argument about what your new signature means.

You're frickin' kidding me, right?

I think it means one thing, but everyone else is arguing against me.

Pitiful.

Can you help clarify this?

Screw Those Ba*tar*s At Wizards Of The Coast. This is official errata.

Skip Williams
STBAWOTC

Interesting...
 

Remove ads

Top