Recharge magic question(long) UA

Eloy

First Post
As I understand it, recharge magic has general and specific recharge rate spells. I don't *quite* get how this works. See if someone can help me out:

For arguments sake, say you have a wizard character with only 4 slots of 1st level spells. You select burning hands (general), magic missile (general), protection from evil (specific) and Shield (specific). Let's also assume that the general recharge rate is 1d6+1.

Now, the book specifically states that when a specific recharge spell is cast, the wizard may cast another spell of the same level the following round.

If so, then does it follow that the next spell may also be a specific recharge spell? And if so, does that mean that the caster may cast another spell of the same level the next round?

e.g. Prot. from evil, then Shield, then say magic missile and the next general recharge spell after 1d6+1 rounds...

BUT! if this is so, can casting a general recharge spell be immediately followed by a specific recharge spell of the same level the following round? The part where it states that specific recharge spells may be immediately followed with a spell of the same level seems to imply that general and specific recharge spells operate independently from each other, so combinations like these are feasible:

Prot from evil, next round magic missile, next round shield then wait until 1d6+1 rounds after the 1st magic missile spell (cast on the second round) to cast the next magic missile or burning hands spell. (This is the interpretation I would favor)

OR does this mean that you may cast:

Prot from evil, then magic missile then wait 1d6+1 rounds before casting magic missile, burning hands or shield.

This last option does not make much sense to me as it implies that you have to cast your specific recharge spells at the beginning of combat in order to cast your general recharge spells in quick succession, or else, if you cast a general recharge spell on the first round of combat, you are forced to wait 1d6+1 rounds before casting any more spells of that level, regardless of whether they are general or specific recharge spells.

Confused? So am I. This section of the book contains at least 2 clearly contradicting statements and is quite vague.

Any thoughts? is there a FAQ or Errata that addresses these issues? (if so, kindly point the way, please.)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Eloy said:
As I understand it, recharge magic has general and specific recharge rate spells. I don't *quite* get how this works. See if someone can help me out:

I'll do what I can.

For arguments sake, say you have a wizard character with only 4 slots of 1st level spells. You select burning hands (general), magic missile (general), protection from evil (specific) and Shield (specific). Let's also assume that the general recharge rate is 1d6+1.

Now, the book specifically states that when a specific recharge spell is cast, the wizard may cast another spell of the same level the following round.

If so, then does it follow that the next spell may also be a specific recharge spell? And if so, does that mean that the caster may cast another spell of the same level the next round?

As I read it, "yes" on both accounts.

e.g. Prot. from evil, then Shield, then say magic missile and the next general recharge spell after 1d6+1 rounds...

Yep.

BUT! if this is so, can casting a general recharge spell be immediately followed by a specific recharge spell of the same level the following round?

I'd have to say "no," mainly due the line on page 158 that reads, "Once a character has cast a general recharge spell, he can't cast another spell of that level until a number of rounds has passed." Table 5-6 shows the number of rounds needed to recharge your spells of the level cast.

The part where it states that specific recharge spells may be immediately followed with a spell of the same level seems to imply that general and specific recharge spells operate independently from each other, so combinations like these are feasible:

Prot from evil, next round magic missile, next round shield then wait until 1d6+1 rounds after the 1st magic missile spell (cast on the second round) to cast the next magic missile or burning hands spell. (This is the interpretation I would favor)

OR does this mean that you may cast:

Prot from evil, then magic missile then wait 1d6+1 rounds before casting magic missile, burning hands or shield.

According to the way things are written, I'd have to say that the latter of the two is correct.

This last option does not make much sense to me as it implies that you have to cast your specific recharge spells at the beginning of combat in order to cast your general recharge spells in quick succession, or else, if you cast a general recharge spell on the first round of combat, you are forced to wait 1d6+1 rounds before casting any more spells of that level, regardless of whether they are general or specific recharge spells.

Notice, too, that the traditional "buff" spells seem to universally have specific recharge times while the "slay" spells are mostly general recharge--so, from what I've seen of combat in dnd, the order of spells cast (buff, buff, slay) really doesn't change that much.

Just my opinion, but I hope it helps.

-B-
 

On second reading, I think you're right. Most buff spells are cast before combat or at the beginning, so I guess it makes sense.

Thanks!

Eloy
 

Remove ads

Top