Recharging charged items.


log in or register to remove this ad


The official core rule is that it cannot be done. There's no procedure to provide it in the core rules, and all the designers have attested to that being intentional.
 


one way to handle recharging is to divide the costs by the number of charges, that's the cost/charge to recharge, the proper crafting feat is required though of course
 

Suldulin said:
one way to handle recharging is to divide the costs by the number of charges, that's the cost/charge to recharge, the proper crafting feat is required though of course

This works for wands, since you are in essence paying the exact same creation cost for a brand new item. There is no "refill rate" like with your water cooler. :) In the end, it all comes out the same-buy a new wand or say you "recharged" the old one.

I don't think this works out so well with staves, which have more variable costs. I would personally just stick with not allowing recharging of magic items.
 


If wands could be recharged they would cost more than they currently do.

People make wands so that they have an additional 50 spells to cast whenever they want to. It costs a bit, in gold and xp, to have this benefit.

Though I can envision "rechargable" items, I see no real reason that this is the way things should work.
 

Does anybody know why it was designed this way? Was there a compelling game balance reason for it, or did the designers like the feel of a world in which magic staves are disposable items?
 

Hrmm, after reading these, I'm going to see if my DM will allow me to recharge a certain staff I am going to make with my cleric. The reason being, I want the item to be unique, and not just be a fancy stick after all 50 charges have been used up. I'll probobly just take the original creation cost and divide that by 50 and get the cost per charge, also with the XP too.

Calrin Alshaw
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top