Reflex Saves

IDHMBWM - does it say that the character gets no save under the snatch feat?

I don't recall reading that.

Let me ask, am I the only person who sees some ambiguity with the rules with regards to losing a reflex save. If one of the conditions to lose the save is that the area you are in is too restrictive, then how is being in a Dragon's mouth different then being pinned? In both cases you pretty much are not moving (again, assuming that the character pinning you is not moving).

Moreover, while in a dragon's mouth, the character is considered grappled - right? In the dragon example, the character is not even technically pinned.

Are there any explicit rules that detail under what conditions you lose your save - agian (with EMPHASIS): NOT THE AMBIGUOUS rules that say whenever you are unable to move.

Let's put it this way, the conditions where a character are unable to move that are obvious and no brainers, I am not asking about.

So if a character has dex 0, or any condition under which s/he would effectively have dex 0 (paralyzed, helpless, etc.) obviously no reflex save.

However, even the 2.5' tunnel I am calling into question. That is slightly ambiguous. Consider - do you get no save because in that tunnel you are considered unable to move (mimicing dex 0) or is it simply one of those explicit conditions that you lose your save apart from any other founding rule. It seems to me that using the fireball logic that character in its effect can still save means that if the character can move at all s/he ought to still be able to save.

While in the dragon's mouth, the character is certainly not dex 0. Moreover, you only lose your dex bonus to characters/creatures not included in the grapple. (Trust me, I know grappling rules). (this is all while not pinned). If the character can then technically move around (inside the dragon's mouth) why doesn't s/he get the save?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Sorry man, I thought you were the one that was saying there was an explicit ruling on the dragon snatch. Me, I tend to allow a save (though maybe with penalties) unless the character is helpless.

IceBear
 

While this post is intended to be comical, it is also intended to get across my point:

So after a heroic sneak attack by our halfling rogue Lidda the dragon agrily focuses on her biting her completely engulfing her small halfling body in its mouth and ripping her from the ground into the air as the dragon begins to fly off. After a few hundred yards (continuously biting Lidda - who is on the verge of death (there is no way Lidda is winning this grapple contest - especially being a small character)). The red great wyrm's breath weapon has recharged (let's assume 4 rounds on the d4 die roll). As a twist of irony (lidda evaded the last breathing) the great wyrm decides that he will officially roast this stupid little halfling.

Lidda's world shakes around her as booming vibrations rack her mind and body, virtually dazing her into submission.

The dragon's voice booms out - HAHAHA - you are in my mouth and now there is no way for you to escape - mwhahahahahahaah

(let's just assume the dragon can still talk with Lidda inside his mouth - wow that sounds dirty for some reason - sick, I am sorry, back on target)

While contemplating how the dragon just managed to speak while its tongue constantly fights with her she thinks to herself - that's what you think. Feeling the intake of breath and heat emenating from deep in the dragon's throat - stop thinking that way, this is a game - Lidda realizes that she is a 20th level rogue. SHe has improved evasion and what's more, she has cover.

Yes lady's and gentelmen - Lidda is going to use the dragon's tongue as cover and effectively evade the dragon's breath weapon.

Lidda scrambles under the tongue while her wrist is caught in between the dragon's back right teeth.

The fire pours out of the dragon's mouth, while Lidda manages to escape all of it.

Now it is Lidda's turn to laugh - but wait. She can use this to her advantage. Either the dragon will now spit her out (probably as some sort of intimidation factor to her friends) or swallow her. Either way, she should definitely play dead. So Lidda goes limp.

The dragon wallows in self glory and self satisfaction relaxing its bite. Dragon's have incredible senses, all except for feeling. So the dragon probably would hear her breathing, even with the masking of its own breathing - so she holds her breath. However, the dragon probably does not feel her heartbeat or manage to call the bluff since all it can go by is its sense of touch to detect whether or not she is moving. It goes for the swallow tactic.

Upon entering the dragon's throat, out of the maw - "Out of the frying pan into the fire - ...if you will... - Lidda whips out her +5 daggers of climbing (give +20 on climbing checks). As the dragon's throat is probably a sheer surface (climb DC somewhere around 50) Lidda has roughly a 50/50 chance of succeeding.

Hahahahahaha - success. Now she proceeds to wrip apart the dragon's throat with the dragon furiously trying to throw her up, with the peristalsis action of its throat (again, lets not be dirty). It can't, what do you know breath for 4 rounds again. So Lidda on the verge of death, has managed to avoid the fire pit that is the Dragon's stomach and now proceeds to get sneak attack damage on every hit - the dragon's throat is considered flatfooted - go figure. In four rounds she has pretty much carved her way out of the dragon's throat (oh yeah - AC is something like 10 to 20 as the scales are not on the inside of the throat, the area is about the size of a common wall, and the muscle is probably a bit tough. Dragon drops to the ground from hundred's of feet in the air.

Oh no! Is this the end, after such a heroic battle inside the dragon...

Tune in next week for: How to fight dragon's while grappled.
 

In dragon's mouth = restricted space therefore no save.
Dragon's Throat = dim lighting therefore no sneak attack.

Allowing a climb check inside a dragon is a house rule.
Reducing the dragon's interior AC is a house rule.
Calling the dragon's throat "flat footed" is a house rule.

You need to relax a little, it's just a game...
 



Ki Ryn said:
In dragon's mouth = restricted space therefore no save.

Why is it restricted? Because of the tongue? It also occurs to me that a great wyrm is gonna have a big frickin' mouth in comparison to a halfling. :)
 
Last edited:

Gaiden said:
IDHMBWM - does it say that the character gets no save under the snatch feat?

I don't recall reading that.

From the SRD, under Dragon Feats:

"Snatch: A dragon that hits with a claw or bite attack attempts to start a grapple as though it had the improved grab special attack. If the dragon gets a hold with a claw on a creature four or more sizes smaller, it squeezes each round for automatic claw damage. If it gets a hold with its bite on a creature three or more sizes smaller, it automatically deals bite damage each round, or if it does not move and takes no other action in combat, it deals double bite damage to the snatched creature. A snatched creature gets no saving throw against the dragon’s breath weapon. The dragon can drop a creature it has snatched as a free action or use a standard action to fling it aside. A flung creature travels 10 feet, and takes 1d6 points of damage, per age category of the dragon. If the dragon flings it while flying, the creature suffers this amount or falling damage, whichever is greater."

Lidda is not disallowed a Reflex save because she is grappled or pinned. By the rules, if she becomes Helpless (paralyzed, held, sleeping, disabled), she is also disallowed a Reflex save.
 


c'mon Galden

What happened to Lidda and the dragon? I'm digging the story. Very enetrtaining, though I'd have to agree with KiRyn that a bunch of that is house ruled. But what the hell, it works for me!
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top