Relentless Opportunist

the Jester

Legend
The boneclaw has reach 3, threatening reach, and relentless opportunist:

If the boneclaw hits with an opportunity attack, it can make another opportunity attack against the same target during the current turn.

If we have the following situation, where B = boneclaw, P= PC, and numbered squares are discussed below:

XXBXX
XX1XX
XX2XX
XX3XX
XXPXX

Let's say the pc moves in to square 1 via 3 and 2. Am I correct in thinking that the boneclaw can potentially take 2 opportunity attacks on him (one as he leaves square 3 and one as he leaves square 2)?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Exactly.

When I first read Relentless Opportunist, I incorrectly thought that it meant the boneclaw would get to make another opportunity attack immediately after the first. However, I reread it and realized that it actually was a power to overrule the normal rule:

PH 290: Once per Combatant's Turn: You can take only one opportunity action during another combatant's turn, but you can take any number during a round.

So, it can potentially make as many opportunity attacks as a target has speed, if the target keeps moving out of squares within reach of the boneclaw. In your situation, though, the boneclaw gets two opportunity attacks, provided that it hits with the first one. If the first misses, it doesn't get the second.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top