Ride-by-attack and reach

Allanon

Explorer
I have a question concerning using a mounted charge attack against a monster with reach.
During a session I charged a Ettin with my mounted Paladin who has the ride-by feat. The DM ruled that since the Ettin has reach the ride by feat didn't prevent an AoO against my character because I moved through multiple (3) threatened Areas. But the ride-by feat stated that it prevents AoO against me? Who's right?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

You are. The Ride by Attack feat is pretty clear that you don't provoke an AoO from the defender while using that action. If it changed when the defender has reach that would be stated explicitly in the description of the feat.
 

[obDM]The DM is always right.[/obDM] :D

That out of the way, my ruling would've been that, according to the text of the Ride-By Attack feat, you would not provoke an AoO from your target. However, there's nothing saying that your mount is likewise covered, and I'd rule that moving through the creature's threatened space would allow it to attack the mount. Of course, you can still attempt to use the prerequisite Mounted Combat feat to negate the AoO if it hits...
 


You were right. :D

Ride-by Attack works like Spring Attack in this regard. You do not provoke an AoO for movement against the opponent you attack, regardless of reach.
 

Ranger REG said:
Actually, the D&D designers insisted that you AND your mount do not provoke AoO by your target when you use the Ride-By Attack feat.
Where does it say that? I couldn't find anything indicating this myself, unless it's in an updated FAQ...
 

Dakhran the Dark said:

Where does it say that? I couldn't find anything indicating this myself, unless it's in an updated FAQ...
That is how the feat works. It would not make much sense to say no AoO against the rider, but the mount is fair game. Besides, it's the mount that is doing the moving which does not provoke the AoO. The sage did say this, although I am unsure where to find it.
 

I can't remember where it was posted. Someone posted an email reply from the Sage I think. I also believe it's written as such in the SRD too.
 

Unfortunately, it did not translate from the Player's Handbook to SRD. All they did is replace the word "you" with "[the] character."

Probably why you should not look at the SRD as definitive D&D rules, just a toolkit for game designers.
 

Common sense says that neither the mount nor rider provoke an AoO, but the strict langugae does not say that:

From the SRD:

Ride-By Attack [General]

Prerequisites: Ride skill, Mounted Combat.

Benefit: When the character is mounted and uses the charge action, the character may move and attack as with a standard charge and then move again (continuing the straight line of the charge). The character's total movement for the round can’t exceed double the character's mounted speed. The character does not provoke an attack of opportunity from the opponent that the character attacks.

I don't know of anyone who plays that the mount draws an AoO, and playing it that way totally negates the value of taking the feat.
 

Remove ads

Top