Ovinomancer
No flips for you!
A question in another thread got me thinking... can you use the ride by attack feat on a flying mount? Sure, when its on the ground, but what about flying?
robberbaron said:I think I would specify needing the feats of Mounted Combat - Aerial and Ride by Attack - Aerial (requiring ranks in Ride - Aerial first), but there is nothing in the rules to stop you just doing it.
SRD said:RIDE (DEX)
If you attempt to ride a creature that is ill suited as a mount, you take a ?5 penalty on your Ride checks.
Check: Typical riding actions don?t require checks. You can saddle, mount, ride, and dismount from a mount without a problem.
MOUNTED COMBAT [GENERAL]
Prerequisite: Ride 1 rank.
Benefit: Once per round when your mount is hit in combat, you may attempt a Ride check (as a reaction) to negate the hit. The hit is negated if your Ride check result is greater than the opponent?s attack roll. (Essentially, the Ride check result becomes the mount?s Armor Class if it?s higher than the mount?s regular AC.)
RIDE-BY ATTACK [GENERAL]
Prerequisites: Ride 1 rank, Mounted Combat.
Benefit: When you are mounted and use the charge action, you may move and attack as if with a standard charge and then move again (continuing the straight line of the charge). Your total movement for the round can?t exceed double your mounted speed. You and your mount do not provoke an attack of opportunity from the opponent that you attack.
Shallown said:Ride by Attack states you use a charge action.
A charge action is a full round action and requires the Mount to participate as a mount.
Fly by attack is a standard action taken during a normal move and denies an additional movement action.
These things potentially conflict. Ride by is very restricted by the Charge action. The Ride requires a full round action to be available but a fly by doesn't allow a full round action only two parts of a normal round that are clearly defined.
This is not to say that I wouldn't allow it but it is a counter arguement.
Later
Shallown said:...
They are two different actions but are they two conflicting actions?...