This is posted on gleemax too, thought I'd ask the same question here...Gleemax is down too often to form a good discussion anyways.
Rogue weapon talent says you get a +1 to attack when you wield, and if you wield a shuriken, your weapons die size increases (d4-d6-d8-d10).
It says wield, not "if/when you attack with", so does this mean that the +1 atk and die increases even if it's not the weapon you're attacking with?
So I wield a rapier(or even a battleaxe) in 1 hand and a dagger in another, attack with the rapier/axe and get another +1 to the attack 'cuz I'm pestering him with my dagger? Makes sense, imo.
This gets stranger with the shuriken making my rapier do more damage in melee? It could be ruled this works only on ranged attacks (spamming shurikens around him so the actual crossbow bolt hits a more painful place), but RAW mentions nothing of it.
And to make it worse, even the rogue powers mention wielding a light blade, not "using for this power". By RAW, does this mean you can use assassin's point with a battleaxe if you just got a dagger in your unused hand?
I'd think, especially in the last case, that Wizard's wording is just messed up and D&D "wield" means "using for this attack", but that's not mentioned anywhere...
Thoughts?
Rogue weapon talent says you get a +1 to attack when you wield, and if you wield a shuriken, your weapons die size increases (d4-d6-d8-d10).
It says wield, not "if/when you attack with", so does this mean that the +1 atk and die increases even if it's not the weapon you're attacking with?
So I wield a rapier(or even a battleaxe) in 1 hand and a dagger in another, attack with the rapier/axe and get another +1 to the attack 'cuz I'm pestering him with my dagger? Makes sense, imo.
This gets stranger with the shuriken making my rapier do more damage in melee? It could be ruled this works only on ranged attacks (spamming shurikens around him so the actual crossbow bolt hits a more painful place), but RAW mentions nothing of it.
And to make it worse, even the rogue powers mention wielding a light blade, not "using for this power". By RAW, does this mean you can use assassin's point with a battleaxe if you just got a dagger in your unused hand?
I'd think, especially in the last case, that Wizard's wording is just messed up and D&D "wield" means "using for this attack", but that's not mentioned anywhere...
Thoughts?