D&D 5E Rogues & damage...

pming

Legend
Hiya.

In another thread, someone mentioned "The rogue is supposed to be a top martial damage dealer".

I'm curious as to when this idea started. I'm thinking it started either around the "2.5e" Skills & Powers, or 3e, because when I started playing, the Thief class was absolutely NOT even near the "top damage dealer" except in one specific, not-so-easy-to-get-off situations (re: when he successfully made a Move Silently and Hide in Shadows check from a position where he could actually be able to even attempt that...and then hit with his Backstab).

Thieves, when I started playing the game, had but d4 for HP and the second worse AC in the game...in the thick of combat was not where a thief wanted to be, that's for dang sure! A thief was a good "range" fighter, however. If there was a big bad monster, the fighter would be right up there, the cleric right behind him, then the thief standing next to the magic-user a safe distance away. When did this change?

I have other theories as to why some folks think of "rogue = best damage", but for fear of starting a flame war I'll remain silent.

How many others out there think the thief should be doing as much or more damage than the fighter?

^_^

Paul L. Ming

Freejackk

First Post
The idea started when one (very misguided) poster stated it in another thread...

Actually, it probably started recently with 4E, as I think that was the first edition where they were really considered top-tier in the dps department. The picture many people have of the iconic assassin types would have a very large burst damage potential, and I think it saddens many to learn that they are behind nearly every other martial class in terms of damage.

(Now this is the part where people say "dps never mattered before and it's still irrelevant play whatever you want the game is about having fun blah blah rant)

trentonjoe

Explorer