• NOW LIVE! -- One-Page Adventures for D&D 5th Edition on Kickstarter! A booklet of colourful one-page adventures for D&D 5th Edition ranging from levels 1-9 and designed for a single session of play.
log in or register to remove this ad

 

RPG Crowdfunding News – Pathfinder for Savage Worlds, Scion, and more

This week, I review a variety of RPG crowdfunding projects and quickstarters that end in the first half of February. There’s a nice cross section of systems here including Savage Worlds Adventure Edition, Dungeons & Dragons Fifth Edition, the Storypath System, Powered by the Apocalypse, and more.
Pathfinder for Savage Worlds.png
Pathfinder for Savage Worlds from Pinnacle Entertainment Group
  • END DATE: Mon, February 15 2021 10:00 PM EST.
  • SYSTEM(S): Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
  • PROJECT TYPE: Core rule boxed sets
  • MOST POPULAR PLEDGE: $300 + S/H for 2 boxed sets plus the PDFs
  • WHY SPOTLIGHT THIS CAMPAIGN? This is a huge offer and represents history in the making. Paizo and Pinnacle Entertainment collaborate bringing Pathfinder’s setting and Savage World’s system in an officially licensed release. The 256-page, hardcover core rulebook not only features Golarion, but also the complete Savage Worlds Adventure Edition rules calibrated to feel right for Pathfinder. Beyond the core rules, there’s a Savage Worlds Bestiary, GM screen, and the adventure, Hollow's Last Hope. Add to that, they’ve converted the full six book Rise of the Runelords Adventure Path to work with Pinnacle’s system; that’s a lot of content. Best of all, these books are available via two boxed sets. If you want it all, you’ll get the books, maps, dice, bennies, decks, and more. If you’re a fan of Pathfinder or Savage Worlds, or even just massive RPG boxed sets, this project promises to deliver a major new product to the RPG world as both systems expand their audiences.

Scion: Dragon and Scion: Masks of the Mythos for Scion 2E from Onyx Path Publishing
  • END DATE: Thu, February 18 2021 2:00 PM EST.
  • SYSTEM(S): Storypath System
  • PROJECT TYPE: Sourcebooks
  • MOST POPULAR PLEDGE: $100 + S/H for the PDF, POD, and hardcover versions of the books
  • WHY SPOTLIGHT THIS CAMPAIGN? Scion Second Edition postulates that you are the child of a goddess or god living in a version of the modern world. With this crowdfunding campaign, Onyx Path opens up new possibilities. First, what if you’re the child of a dragon? In Scion: Dragon, you learn that the gods beat back your ancestors, but you have a dragon inside you and you will use it to reclaim the world. On the other hand, instead of being the child of something terrestrial, you may be descend from the gods of the Mythos. While the campaign page for Scion: Masks of the Mythos doesn’t call it out specifically, James Bell, the individual who runs Onyx Path’s Kickstarters, commented that the book focuses on the Great Old Ones. As with all Onyx Path Kickstarters, as soon as you back you’ll get the rough drafts of the books so, by the close of the campaign, you can incorporate this into your Scions games. If you want to play as the child of a dragon, or an unknowable space entity, as you battle the children of the gods and the gods themselves for the future of the earth, these books await.

Epic Legacy Tome of Titans from 2CGaming
  • END DATE: Mon, February 15 2021 12:00 AM EST.
  • SYSTEM(S): Dungeons & Dragons Fifth Edition
  • PROJECT TYPE: Sourcebook
  • MOST POPULAR PLEDGE: $45 + S/H for the PDF and print versions of the book
  • WHY SPOTLIGHT THIS CAMPAIGN? If you’re running an epic 5e campaign, 2CGaming offers several books to help you reach the highest tiers of adventure. This one, Epic Legacy Tome of the Titans, is in the vein of Deities & Demigods, offering gods as enemies or allies. Asmodeus, Cthulhu, the Mother of Spiders, the Dark Dragon Queen, and the Angel of Death are among the pages of this book, each with legendary moves. If your campaign needs enemies that are so powerful they elicit worship, check out this campaign.



Dungeon Bitches- A Queer TTRPG.jpg

Dungeon B*tches: A Queer TTRPG from Dying Stylishly Games
  • END DATE: Sun, February 14 2021 1:00 PM EST.
  • SYSTEM(S): Powered By The Apocalypse
  • PROJECT TYPE: Core rulebook
  • MOST POPULAR PLEDGE: $55 for the PDF and POD versions of the book and PDFs of the other supplements
  • DISCLAIMER: This review attempts to paraphrase the campaign page while capturing the language choices offered therein. I forego direct quotes, but this one feels pertinent since it offers caution in the creator’s words including capitalization. “A WARNING: THE GAME CONTAINS GORE, NUDITY, AND SEXUALITY.”
  • WHY SPOTLIGHT THIS CAMPAIGN? All of the characters in this game are queer, women, and lack a defined place in society. In this RPG, dungeons represent more than just a tomb to raid, they’re a place outside of society where your characters can find companionship and freedom, if not safety. In the 150 or more pages of this rulebook, the system focuses on relationships within the party and without. Emotional trauma is as deadly as physical trauma, but in the dungeon there’s a chance to find a safe space and heal. If you’re looking for a fantasy RPG which is loud and proud of its truth, this one may speak to you.

Our Shores: An RPGSEA Compilation from Sandy Pug Games
  • END DATE: Thu, February 18 2021 7:56 AM EST.
  • SYSTEM(S): Everything from original systems to Powered By The Apocalypse and Forged In the Dark
  • PROJECT TYPE: Core rulebook
  • MOST POPULAR PLEDGE: $35 for the PDF of this book
  • WHY SPOTLIGHT THIS CAMPAIGN? RPGSEA stands for Roleplaying Game South East Asia and its title points towards the origins of the creators behind this anthology of games. Among them are: Navathem's End which uses elements of Powered By The Apocalypse and Forged In the Dark for its engine as you play agents of a tower trying to stop the apocalypse. Capitalites is a slice-of-life RPG that’s dice-less and GM-less, using a system inspired by Good Society and Fiasco. Maharlika describes its unique hook as technomystic mecha inspired by Filipino mythology. As mecha pilots, you’ll combat your corporation’s enemies in this space epic. If you’re looking for an RPG anthology from a unique perspective, Our Shores may be what you’re looking for.

End Times from Vajra Enterprises
  • END DATE: Thu, February 25 2021 3:45 PM EST.
  • SYSTEM(S): Powered by the Apocalypse or ORC 2.0
  • PROJECT TYPE: Core rulebook
  • MOST POPULAR PLEDGE: $45 for the PDFs and a hardcover
  • WHY SPOTLIGHT THIS CAMPAIGN? An apocalypse is coming and you have the power to both know it and prevent it. However, the apocalypse has allies with the same foreknowledge but a desire to bring the apocalypse about. In the game, you’re able to switch consciousness with yourself ten years in the future or past as you work to stop the end times. This RPG comes in the ORC 2.0 system or the Powered by the Apocalypse system, your choice. In another unique offering, there are twelve covers to choose from so when you back this, you’ll get a version that’s to your tastes. If this interests you, there’s a preview of the RPG on the campaign page.

Incredible Creatures from Alan Tucker
  • END DATE: Sun, February 21 2021 10:55 AM EST.
  • SYSTEM(S): Dungeons & Dragons Fifth Edition
  • PROJECT TYPE: Sourcebook
  • MOST POPULAR PLEDGE: $25 for the PDF and POD of the book
  • TRY BEFORE YOU BUY: Incredible Creatures Sampler (Monsters for 5e)
  • WHY SPOTLIGHT THIS CAMPAIGN? Need 100 monsters for your 5e game, each inspired by their artwork? Then this 150 to 200 page book may be right for your game. This is an art driven project offering monster stats inspired by the look of the beasts. I’m a fan of monster manual projects and this one promises some great, visually inspiring options.


Egg Embry participates in the OneBookShelf Affiliate Program and is an Amazon Associate. These programs provide advertising fees by linking to DriveThruRPG and Amazon.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Egg Embry

Egg Embry



eyeheartawk

Works 60% of the time, every time
I have all the Epic Legacy books (including backing this one) and each campaign draws more and more dollars.

It's weird. It's as if there is sufficient demand for epic level content to justify maybe just one release by Wizards in the now 7 year lifecycle of 5e.
 





Dire Bare

Legend
Supporter
The 12 different covers thing makes me nervous on behalf of the campaign organizers. That seems like an extra layer of complication that can screw up fulfillment.
It seems excessive. If that's 12 options for the print books, seems like it would run up prices also. To me, it comes across as a gimmick or stunt and puts me off the project.
 



Dire Bare

Legend
Supporter
Iron Kingdoms: Requiem ends on February 12th, earlier than any of the KS presented.
No Iron Kingdoms: Requiem? It started yesterday and in one whole day, they blew through 9 stretchgoals.
True, but the Iron Kingdoms Kickstarter is a "quickstarter" that only launched the day before Egg "went to press" . . . so give him a break.

Still, it seems an exciting project that I had assumed had already happened! The original Monsternomicon was one of the first d20 products for the D&D 3E OGL back in the day, and I have fond memories. Backed!

For those who need it, here's the link: Iron Kingdoms: Requiem 5E
 


Visit Our Sponsor

An Advertisement

Advertisement4

Top