Shin Okada
Explorer
PHB P.133 "Striking the Cover Instead of a Missed Target:", 2nd paragraph.
"If the covering creature has a Dexterity bonus to AC or a Dodge bonus, and this bonus keeps the creature from being hit, then the original target is hit instead. The covering creature has dodged out of the way and didn't provide cover after all."
What does this sentence mean?
1. If the covering creature can avoid the hit only with his Dex bonus and Dodge bonus, he has dodged out of the way and didn't provide cover after all.
2. If the covering creature's AC is not enough to avoid hit without Dex/Dodge bonus, and enough with Dex/Dodge bonus, he has dodged out of the way and didn't provide cover after all.
Say, Bolg the Big Barbarian (AC 16, +4 Armor, +2 Dex) is providing 3/4 cover to his mall friend Albert (Originally, AC 11, +7 from Bolg's cover).
Albert will never be hit if the attack roll is 10-. And will be surely hit if the attack roll is 18+. At 11 to 17, the cover (Bolg) may be hit.
Now, If interpretation 1 is correct,4
10- ......... No hit at all.
11 .......... Usually, the cover may be hit. But Bolg dodges out of the way and does not provide cover to Albert. So Albert is hit.
12 to 15 ... Bolg provides cover to Albert. So Bolg may be hit. But the attack roll is not enough to harm Bolg.
16 to 17 ... Bolg provides cover. And Bolg is hit by the attack.
18+ ........ Albert is hit.
If interpretation 2 is correct,
10- ......... No hit at all.
11 to 13 .... Bolg provides cover to Albert. And, the cover may be hit. But the attack roll is not enough to harm Bolg.
14 to 15 .... Usually, the cover may be hit. But Bolg dodges out of the way and does not provide cover to Albert. So Albert is hit.
16 to 17 .... Bolg provides cover to Albert. And Bolg is hit.
18+ ......... Albert is hit.
Hmmm. it is so complex and I am totally confused. Would someone please clarify this rule?
"If the covering creature has a Dexterity bonus to AC or a Dodge bonus, and this bonus keeps the creature from being hit, then the original target is hit instead. The covering creature has dodged out of the way and didn't provide cover after all."
What does this sentence mean?
1. If the covering creature can avoid the hit only with his Dex bonus and Dodge bonus, he has dodged out of the way and didn't provide cover after all.
2. If the covering creature's AC is not enough to avoid hit without Dex/Dodge bonus, and enough with Dex/Dodge bonus, he has dodged out of the way and didn't provide cover after all.
Say, Bolg the Big Barbarian (AC 16, +4 Armor, +2 Dex) is providing 3/4 cover to his mall friend Albert (Originally, AC 11, +7 from Bolg's cover).
Albert will never be hit if the attack roll is 10-. And will be surely hit if the attack roll is 18+. At 11 to 17, the cover (Bolg) may be hit.
Now, If interpretation 1 is correct,4
10- ......... No hit at all.
11 .......... Usually, the cover may be hit. But Bolg dodges out of the way and does not provide cover to Albert. So Albert is hit.
12 to 15 ... Bolg provides cover to Albert. So Bolg may be hit. But the attack roll is not enough to harm Bolg.
16 to 17 ... Bolg provides cover. And Bolg is hit by the attack.
18+ ........ Albert is hit.
If interpretation 2 is correct,
10- ......... No hit at all.
11 to 13 .... Bolg provides cover to Albert. And, the cover may be hit. But the attack roll is not enough to harm Bolg.
14 to 15 .... Usually, the cover may be hit. But Bolg dodges out of the way and does not provide cover to Albert. So Albert is hit.
16 to 17 .... Bolg provides cover to Albert. And Bolg is hit.
18+ ......... Albert is hit.
Hmmm. it is so complex and I am totally confused. Would someone please clarify this rule?