Saving throw question

Light Knight

First Post
Our warrior, has fire protection on. A goblin throw's a net on him and captures him in it.

Our wizard casts fireball on the area the warrior is in.

Does the net benefit from the warriors protection/saving throws? Or is it independent?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

If the Goblin is holding/controlling the net, then it's his attended weapon, and gets no protection.

If the net has been thrown, and there's no cord or other tie to place it in the Goblin's control, then it looks like the Paladin may be the one who decides its fate.

Simple question: Does the Paladin have any real control over it, or is it simply something he's touching?

The answer to that may answer your question. It isn't just contact or proximity, it's control that determines whether an object is "attended" by a person or not.
 

The warrior is being controlled by the net. He cant take it off unless he makes an escape artist check. Its making him move at half speed. I believe its affecting some other stats as well.
 

Yes it does. Treat damage to the net as if attended by the warrior.
Trying to save his as-s from the flames means that he also saves the net in the process (as long as he is entangled in it).
 

After re-reading the question I'd like to amend my answer.

The net definitely gets the benefit of his Saving Throw, for things like the fire ball. Other circumstances may give other results. For example, consider the classic scene: The Hero is tied up, and rolls over to the fire or lamp and holds his wrists near the flame. He's trying to burn the ropes without burning himself. Thus, he's "making his save" while trying really really hard to make sure the ropes don't make theirs.

That being said, the net doesn't necessarily get the benefit of the Protection from Fire either. On that point I'll stick to my original statement, that it depends on whether it's being controlled by someone else, by him, or whether you as the DM consider it an unattended item.

Just as characters can choose to fail a Save, I'd say that the character can choose whether to extend magical Protections *THAT THEY CONTROL* to items they're in contact with.

If the Protection is from a Ring or potion, he has the choice. If it's a spell he cast on himself, or some item he activated, it's his choice. If it was cast by someone else *before the net was thrown on him*, it's his choice. If the net was on him when the spell was cast, it's under the spell.

This is, of course, just my opinion. In the end, it's the DM's opinion that counts.
 

the net does not get the benefit of the warriors saving throw.

it is "held" or "controlled" by another.

the fact that the net is holding/touching the warrior is simply a special property of the net, which has no affect on saving throws whatsoever.

the net would get the benefit of that controlling individuals' saving throw, however.
 


Yes the DM's parent were/are married :)


As for "holding" the net...the goblin that threw it is no longer holding the net.

However, if it were, and he made the saving throw, would the net burn?

If he didnt make the saving throw, and didnt roll a 1, would the net burn?
 


SRD:

This abjuration grants a creature limited protection from damage of whichever one of five energy types you select: acid, cold, electricity, fire, or sonic. The subject gains energy resistance 10 against the energy type chosen, meaning that each time the creature is subjected to such damage (whether from a natural or magical source), that damage is reduced by 10 points before being applied to the creature’s hit points. The value of the energy resistance granted increases to 20 points at 7th level and to a maximum of 30 points at 11th level. The spell protects the recipient’s equipment as well.


1-The spell saves as the warrior. By trying to avoid the flames, he keeps the net out of the fire as well since it is entangled around his body. As to the penalties on the save that is a different story. The warrior surely loses Dex modifier to his Ref, but one might rule that he gets an even bigger penalty, or that he doesn't get a save at all. (Depends on the level of entanglement)

2-As for the fire protection there are two choices:
a)Fire protection does not affect the net since it not part of his equipment.
b)Fire protection does affect the net. The net is all over the warrior'd body, thus it can be treated as an item "carried" by the warrior.

Personally, i'd choose the latter because IMO it makes more cense. That doesn't mean that (a) is wrong.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top