Jimlock
Adventurer
The sort of ambiguity I meant was that the spell first refers to affecting unattended objects and later to all objects in the area.
What's ambiguous about saying that an unattended object is also an object in the area of the spell?
Ambiguity would have existed if the spell did not make clear which items get affected.
The spell simply states that unattended objects (equipment/items not held or on a PC/NPC, equipment/items that perhaps belong to the PC/NPC) share the same fate with all the miscellaneous items in the area.
It clarifies "unattended" so that a player cannot claim "hey my scroll was not set on fire! It might have been left on the floor but it is a part of my equipment!"
Normally an attended object makes saves using its attender's bonuses but probably not using it's features affecting the results. However the net is probably not an attended object and shares it's faith merely cause it moves with the warrior. DM's call I guess.
This is correct. Items only get the PC's save bonus, not misc. features. However, if i allowed a save at all, i'd rule that evasion stands for the net as well. It doesn't make cense that a rogue gets no damage and the net gets destroyed while being wrapped all around him.