Greenfield
Adventurer
Here's my major objection, once again...
That means that your spell book can't go with you. If it ever leaves that area it vanishes.
The same applies to a scroll, book, stone plaque, bunny rabbit or pogo stick. It's stuck pretty much where the illusion was originally cast. Not movable outside that area.
And, of course, all of this ignores the general wrongness of creating an illusion of a magic item, then having that item function as if it were real.
I mean, if you can do a scroll, why not a potion? A wand? A staff? The Artifact of your choice? Why not an illusion of an Efreet, and have him grant Wishes?
Now, you can of course do any of these things, but only if you're willing to ignore the rules. And if that's the case, why are you raising rule questions about it?
Now you ask about a weapon with an Illusion on it. The effect is called Glamored, and though it normally applies to armor I suppose you could attach it to a weapon. It's a specific enchantment, with specific rules and costs. It also requires a specific feat to add, beyond just a permanent spell.
But since you can't attach a Silent Image to an object, your application doesn't work. Essentially none of the related illusion spells have that option either. They don't move just because something that was in the area moved, not when someone tries to turn a page of your illusory book, nor when someone picks up your illusion-covered sword. The finger goes through the page, and the illusion stays behind when the sword is drawn.
Your translation of the sections I highlighted was amusing, by the way. It says that the illusory object's movement is limited to "within the limits of the size of the effect", and you "translate" that to mean that you can move it outside the limits of the size of the effect. Sorry, you got that 100% backwards. It isn't nailed to a point in space, but is essentially locked into a cell. It can pace the floor, but it can't leave.
Some higher level illusion spells state explicitly that the caster can move them within the range of the spell. This isn't one of those higher level ones, and even that expanded mobility wouldn't help, since it would be anchored to within a few hundred feet of the spot it was cast from.
At least one of those says that the caster can make it react to contact, and thus not be rendered useless by contact, but again, we're talking about something that isn't Silent Image.
By the way, where did you come across the "Rod of XP"? Personal invention, or is that from an actual WOTC publication?
And the Permanent Rod of Permanency? What source?
<PS: I'm still trying to figure out how you can visualize an entire spell book, with all of the spells in there in enough detail to be readable, if you don't have all of the spells memorized at the same time? >
As the highlighted sections show, the spell limits the size of the figment to 4 10 foot cubes, plus one per caster level. And while the range says how far from the caster that volume can be, the figment can only move within that volume of space.SRD said:Silent Image
Illusion (Figment)
Level: Brd 1, Sor/Wiz 1
Components: V, S, F
Casting Time: 1 standard action
Range: Long (400 ft. + 40 ft./level)
Effect: Visual figment that cannot extend beyond four 10-ft. cubes + one 10-ft. cube/level (S)
Duration: Concentration
Saving Throw: Will disbelief (if interacted with)
Spell Resistance: No
This spell creates the visual illusion of an object, creature, or force, as visualized by you. The illusion does not create sound, smell, texture, or temperature. You can move the image within the limits of the size of the effect.
Focus: A bit of fleece.
That means that your spell book can't go with you. If it ever leaves that area it vanishes.
The same applies to a scroll, book, stone plaque, bunny rabbit or pogo stick. It's stuck pretty much where the illusion was originally cast. Not movable outside that area.
And, of course, all of this ignores the general wrongness of creating an illusion of a magic item, then having that item function as if it were real.
I mean, if you can do a scroll, why not a potion? A wand? A staff? The Artifact of your choice? Why not an illusion of an Efreet, and have him grant Wishes?
Now, you can of course do any of these things, but only if you're willing to ignore the rules. And if that's the case, why are you raising rule questions about it?
Now you ask about a weapon with an Illusion on it. The effect is called Glamored, and though it normally applies to armor I suppose you could attach it to a weapon. It's a specific enchantment, with specific rules and costs. It also requires a specific feat to add, beyond just a permanent spell.
But since you can't attach a Silent Image to an object, your application doesn't work. Essentially none of the related illusion spells have that option either. They don't move just because something that was in the area moved, not when someone tries to turn a page of your illusory book, nor when someone picks up your illusion-covered sword. The finger goes through the page, and the illusion stays behind when the sword is drawn.
Your translation of the sections I highlighted was amusing, by the way. It says that the illusory object's movement is limited to "within the limits of the size of the effect", and you "translate" that to mean that you can move it outside the limits of the size of the effect. Sorry, you got that 100% backwards. It isn't nailed to a point in space, but is essentially locked into a cell. It can pace the floor, but it can't leave.
Some higher level illusion spells state explicitly that the caster can move them within the range of the spell. This isn't one of those higher level ones, and even that expanded mobility wouldn't help, since it would be anchored to within a few hundred feet of the spot it was cast from.
At least one of those says that the caster can make it react to contact, and thus not be rendered useless by contact, but again, we're talking about something that isn't Silent Image.
By the way, where did you come across the "Rod of XP"? Personal invention, or is that from an actual WOTC publication?
And the Permanent Rod of Permanency? What source?
<PS: I'm still trying to figure out how you can visualize an entire spell book, with all of the spells in there in enough detail to be readable, if you don't have all of the spells memorized at the same time? >
Last edited: