Hand of Vecna
First Post
I had seen where Shifter's don't gain subtypes in a Sage Advice in Dragon, which makes little sense to me as well. I'll see if I can find the WotC thread about this stuff. Thanks!
Oh, and why is it a common ruling to not be able to apply a template to all creatures you can shift into? As long as the Template itself can be applied to a creature, I don't see why not -- if my Shifter's traveled to the Elemental Plane of Fire and stayed there for some time, studying the native creatures there, why shouldn't he be able to from that point on apply the Fire Element Creature template to whatever corporeal animal, beast, magical beast, plant, or vermin he becomes?
Again, thanks for all the speedy & helpful replies!
Oh, and why is it a common ruling to not be able to apply a template to all creatures you can shift into? As long as the Template itself can be applied to a creature, I don't see why not -- if my Shifter's traveled to the Elemental Plane of Fire and stayed there for some time, studying the native creatures there, why shouldn't he be able to from that point on apply the Fire Element Creature template to whatever corporeal animal, beast, magical beast, plant, or vermin he becomes?
Again, thanks for all the speedy & helpful replies!