sliding rules

sirtayls

First Post
positioning strike (enc, rogue 1) You slide the target a number of squares
equal to your Charisma modifier.
Trick strike (daily, rogue 1) - Until the end of the encounter, each time you hit the
target you slide it 1 square.
you trick strike an opponent, then use your pos. strike and hit. let’s say the charisma bonus is +3 would the correct ruling be:
a) you have the ability to slide the target 3 squares, trick strike does not apply (ie. no stacking)
b) you have the ability to slide it 1 square for the trick strike effect, then slide it 3 for the positioning strike? (ie stacking)
c) something else.
(yes i know it can be ‘up to’ 3 squares, but that is hardly the point of this post...)
if you have a spot in the PH that references your reasoning, that would be great as well
 

log in or register to remove this ad



The PHB doesn't really say for sure, but I'm guessing b with the clarification that they don't exactly stack (and become slide 4) so much as are treated as two entirely separate effects.

This would mean that if you have any abilities that say something to the effect of "whenever you slide an opponent, blah", they'll trigger twice. Which is prone to abuse, and probably not directly intentional.
 

Shifting isn't a thing that can stack, it is an event that can happen.

For example, you can have two events that trigger damage, and both would occur. This isn't 'stacking.' This is simply two things happening.

You're not shifting 4. You're shifting 3 and shifting 1, the order of which is up to you.
 

Remove ads

Top