So, Does this Work?

Steely Dan

Banned
Banned
I don't think so, but one of my players does (see quote below):

"If Tom the rogue deals cold damage (Frost weapons have an at will ability that allows you to convert all damage dealt by the weapon to cold and grants the attack the cold descriptor) to a creature with cold vulnerability (Lasting Frost - Any target you hit with a power that has the cold keyword gains vulnerable cold 5 until the end of your next turn.) with any of his powers the target grants her combat advantage (Wintertouched - When attacking a creature that is vulnerable to cold, you gain combat advantage when you use a power that has the cold keyword) until the end of her next turn."

You can see where he's going with this…
 

log in or register to remove this ad

It doesn't seem like that big of an advantage to me. I personally would let that player do this.
It might seem like a big deal, but an extra D6/d8 damage in 4E isn't realy that big of a deal.
 

when you use a power that has the cold keyword

Unfortunately, this is a sticking point. Even though you are doing 'cold' damage, you aren't using a power with the 'cold' keyword.

It looks like there will be weapon/cold attacks to use later on (from the swordmage i think) that would be suitable for this, either for better swordmagery or as a multiclass option.
 

It doesn't seem like that big of an advantage to me. I personally would let that player do this.
It might seem like a big deal, but an extra D6/d8 damage in 4E isn't realy that big of a deal.

We're talking about a 13th level rogue with the Backstabber feat, so an extra 3d8 every round because of some suspect combo between a frost weapon and two feats a rogue was never meant to take (Lasting Frost and Winter Touched) is a big deal to me.



Unfortunately, this is a sticking point. Even though you are doing 'cold' damage, you aren't using a power with the 'cold' keyword.

Thank you, now I have RAW as well as RAI.


The attack deals Cold Energy Damage (descriptor), but does not gain the Cold Key-Word.
 
Last edited:

None of the rogue powers have the cold keyword, so the combo is a no go. Now if he had a magic weapon which had its own attack power with the cold keyword, then the rogue in question could pull this off.
 


Unfortunately, this is a sticking point. Even though you are doing 'cold' damage, you aren't using a power with the 'cold' keyword.

It looks like there will be weapon/cold attacks to use later on (from the swordmage i think) that would be suitable for this, either for better swordmagery or as a multiclass option.
Pg 226 of the PHB

His class powers will gain the magic item's power's keywords. Thus, using the frost weapon with a power, the power will inherit the cold keyword.

The attack deals Cold Energy Damage (descriptor), but does not gain the Cold Key-Word.
It does gain the Cold Keyword, as per pg 226 of the PHB.
 

PHB p226.
Use a frost weapon, and every attack you make with the weapon has the cold keyword. If the power is 'on', your damage is only cold. If the power is 'off', your damage is partly cold.

It's RAW, and unambiguous, but personally I'm hoping that rule gets changed via errata.
 


PHB p226.
Use a frost weapon, and every attack you make with the weapon has the cold keyword. If the power is 'on', your damage is only cold. If the power is 'off', your damage is partly cold.

It's RAW, and unambiguous, but personally I'm hoping that rule gets changed via errata.
The only part that's ambiguous is whether or not the power needs to be 'on' to get the benefit. And that's mostly a point of contention applicable for weapons that can't be turned 'on.' So is practically moot for frost/flaming weapons.
 

Remove ads

Top