So.... Fighter's boundless Endurance

Kzach said:
I've found 4e rules to be very literal. If it had an ending condition, it would say so. The bloodied part is simply the pre-condition for it to be activated.

I like Magic Lantern (cleric).

"You summon a lantern."

Cool!

"And you can move the lantern too."

Er? Really? I can move the lantern? So it's not embedded in the wall or anything? Thats... ah... great?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Parlan said:
That's the way I read it too. Having the power "flip on and off" seems a little too fiddly for 4e

Yeah, I think that once bloodied you start regaining HP is what we're going with at our table. Makes more sense anyhoo.
 

Kzach said:
I've found 4e rules to be very literal. If it had an ending condition, it would say so. The bloodied part is simply the pre-condition for it to be activated.

Actually, no, that's not what it says. It doesn't say you can only activate it when bloodied. It says you gain regen when you are bloodied.

You could, if you wanted, activate the power on the first round of combat. But you only regenerate as long as you're bloodied. Once you're no longer bloodied, you stop regenerating; if you're bloodied again during the same encounter, you start regenerating again.

It doesn't seem that fiddly to me, but either way, that's how it's written.
 

Regicide said:
I like Magic Lantern (cleric).

"You summon a lantern."

Cool!

"And you can move the lantern too."

Er? Really? I can move the lantern? So it's not embedded in the wall or anything? Thats... ah... great?

The really funny thing about Holy Lantern is that it's a conjuration.
It occupies a space.
Enemies can't go through your conjurations but allies can (under Conjurations pg59).

Magic Lantern is now a glowing semi-permeable pillar of rock!

It suddenly changes from a crap spell to a somewhat useful one.
 

Parlan said:
That's the way I read it too. Having the power "flip on and off" seems a little too fiddly for 4e
Not necessarily, there are enough other bonuses or penalties which only apply while bloodied, the "non-fiddly" part comes in because in 4e your bloodied number is actually written on your sheet, so at any point (in this case, the start of your turn) you just compare the two numbers.
 

cdrcjsn said:
The really funny thing about Holy Lantern is that it's a conjuration.
It occupies a space.
Enemies can't go through your conjurations but allies can (under Conjurations pg59).

Magic Lantern is now a glowing semi-permeable pillar of rock!

It suddenly changes from a crap spell to a somewhat useful one.

Wait, what?
WHAT? *checks pg. 59*

o_O
Mage Hand is a Conjuration.

A wizard can completely and unavoidably block a square with an AT-WILL MINOR ACTION.

Need to stop enemies from getting through the doorway? Mage Hand in the door space. Then blast away with your still-available standard and move actions.

If this is an intended consequence of the rules, it really ought to be more clearly spelled out in the books that you can do this. It's a very powerful tactical option, and I never would have thought about it had you not mentioned the lantern.

If it is the intent, it may well explain why it's ranged 5 and you can only create one at a time - no using three minors to create a 3-square wall of hands.
 

NMcCoy said:
Wait, what?
WHAT? *checks pg. 59*

o_O
Mage Hand is a Conjuration.

A wizard can completely and unavoidably block a square with an AT-WILL MINOR ACTION.

Nope. Nor can a cleric do so with Holy Lantern.

It's a very easy detail to miss--I almost did, myself--but not all conjurations occupy an entire square. Some conjurations specify that they "occupy" a square. Other, smaller ones merely appear in a square.

So basically, if it occupies the square, you treat it like an ally--you can move through it, your enemies can't. But if it doesn't occupy the square, you treat it like any other small item: you ignore it.
 

Not so sure about where that distinction is made...
Flaming Sphere said:
Effect: You conjure a Medium flaming sphere in an unoccupied square within range...
Mage Hand said:
Effect: You conjure a spectral, floating hand in an unoccupied square within range.

Only difference I see is that Flaming Sphere has a size, while Mage Hand doesn't say anything about size. From this we're supposed to infer that for the purposes of "Unless a power description says otherwise, a conjuration can’t be attacked or physically affected, and allies of the conjuration’s creator can move through the space a conjuration occupies, but enemies can’t.", a Flaming Sphere blocks movement and a Mage Hand doesn't? Or since Flaming Sphere doesn't "occupy" anything in the power description, does that mean enemies can waltz right through it unscathed?
 


NMcCoy said:
Only difference I see is that Flaming Sphere has a size, while Mage Hand doesn't say anything about size. From this we're supposed to infer that for the purposes of "Unless a power description says otherwise, a conjuration can’t be attacked or physically affected, and allies of the conjuration’s creator can move through the space a conjuration occupies, but enemies can’t.", a Flaming Sphere blocks movement and a Mage Hand doesn't? Or since Flaming Sphere doesn't "occupy" anything in the power description, does that mean enemies can waltz right through it unscathed?

I would absolutely allow someone to move through a flaming sphere's square. It doesn't occupy the square, not in the sense of forming a physical barrier.

Look, for instance, at spiritual weapon. It appears in an enemy's square. No way it could do that if all conjurations were considered to "occupy" a square.

That's why some conjurations specifically say they occupy squares, and others do not. Those that do so can block creatures from moving through them. Those that don't, don't.
 

Remove ads

Top