So.... Fighter's boundless Endurance

In that case I need to clarify something else - is a square adjacent to itself? The rules aren't clear on this point, but common sense says it must be, because otherwise you can protect yourself from a flaming sphere by moving into its square.

I'd imagined the Flaming Sphere to resemble its 3.5 counterpart, a solid ("spongy") 5-foot-diameter ball that took up space and nobody in their right mind would try to walk through. It seems the 4e version is a wispier thing that only hurts you if either you stick around too long next to it or it reaches out and whacks you. Though rereading the 3.5 version, it may not be as different as I imagined: The sphere does its thing upon entering the target's square (which indeed implies that for a subsequent attack it'd need to roll off of them and back on); setting aside the obviously different economy of actions, the main difference seems to be we've gained a pseudo-aura (a d4 so it counts as a "damage roll" for the purposes of Astral Fire, I suppose, if that counts as "using" a power*) and lost the ability to bounce.

After searching, it seems there are some cleric powers that do explicitly "occupy" spaces (and one wizard power, Bigby's Grasping Hands). But if "occupy" is meant to be a keyword, they're being pretty sloppy with it (see Blade Barrier, which is a conjuration that talks about "the spaces occupied by the blade barrier" even though it clearly doesn't Occupy spaces.) At the very least the wording of p59 should be much more clear about what "occupying" means. My first instinct would certainly have been "enemies can't go through the Flaming Sphere - it's Medium and a conjuration (and the rules basically say that conjurations block spaces like party members do). If you can't walk through the halfling, you can't walk through a 5-foot flaming sponge." Even so, what with this being Exception-Based Design, why not say that conjurations don't block movement, and then specify an exception in the half-dozen or so that do? It would seem to make a lot more sense, and would spare the poor wizard thinking his Flaming Sphere blocks movement until he reaches 15th level and sees a power that explicitly Occupies a space.

*for all the keyword-oriented design in 4e (which I heartily approve, by the way) they sure seem to have missed the boat in some places. "Occupying" a space, "using" a power, Flaming Sphere hurting people that start their turns "next to" rather than adjacent...
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Well, I'll be the first to admit that I could be wrong in my interpretation. I'd forgotten that the flaming sphere is specified as being Medium, so I'm willing to concede the point to you on that one and change my opinion; I would not, now that you've pointed out the size comment, allow an enemy to enter the square.

That said, I still maintain that not all conjurations can possibly have that effect; I think flaming sphere is not clearly worded, but doesn't disprove my interpretation overall. Otherwise, you couldn't have conjurations like spiritual weapon appear in the target's space, and mage hand would be too powerful. And also, note that blade barrier very specifically does allow for creatures to pass through it.

What I'd be inclined to rule, in the absence of any official clarification*, is that any conjuration that

A) States it "occupies" a square, or

B) Is given an official Size, like a creature

would qualify for the "blocks foes" ruling. The others do not.

*(And in the absence of any further examples that continue to prove me wrong. ;))
 

Mouseferatu said:
I would absolutely allow someone to move through a flaming sphere's square. It doesn't occupy the square, not in the sense of forming a physical barrier.

Look, for instance, at spiritual weapon. It appears in an enemy's square. No way it could do that if all conjurations were considered to "occupy" a square.

That's why some conjurations specifically say they occupy squares, and others do not. Those that do so can block creatures from moving through them. Those that don't, don't.


Nah, man. They found an error in the rules. Bigby's Icy Grasp, level 5 daily, is a 5 foot tall hand made of ice that doesn't occupy a square in it's text.

My personal ruling is that anything solid and with a size blocks enemies. That includes flaming sphere. That doesn't include mage hand.
 

hong said:
Alternatively, you could say that it works while bloodied, until the end of the encounter. If you go in and out of the bloodied state, your regen similarly flips on and off.
That's how I read it. It ends if you are no longer bloodied, but if you get bloodied again in the same encounter it turns on again
 

Remove ads

Top