D&D 5E Some 5ed Questions


log in or register to remove this ad

Sorry but I still can't see what the difference is.

Is there a hard and fast rule in the phb that explains this?

PH, p. 173: "Your proficiency bonus can’t be added to a single die roll or other number more than once. For example, if two different rules say you can add your proficiency bonus to a Wisdom saving throw, you nevertheless add the bonus only once when you make the save."

Hopefully that helps, but the way I prefer to think about this is that there is no difference between having Keen Senses (the effect of which is having proficiency with Perception) and being proficient with Perception from some other source. Either way you are proficient with Perception. You can't be proficient with the same skill more than once.
 

PH, p. 173: "Your proficiency bonus can’t be added to a single die roll or other number more than once. For example, if two different rules say you can add your proficiency bonus to a Wisdom saving throw, you nevertheless add the bonus only once when you make the save."

Hopefully that helps, but the way I prefer to think about this is that there is no difference between having Keen Senses (the effect of which is having proficiency with Perception) and being proficient with Perception from some other source. Either way you are proficient with Perception. You can't be proficient with the same skill more than once.

Not only that, but what you are quoting from the PHB means that a player cannot apply the proficiency bonus twice even if it came from two different sources (such as a weird combination like using Dexterity (thieves tools) along with Dexterity (Sleight of Hand)).
 

I think I have it now.

Are we saying that

Regardless of the source, you can't be proficient with the same skill more than once?

Key word here being 'proficient' and in specific proficiency

EDIT: That can't be right because Wisdom 'proficiency' is added to the perception skill roll which would make redundant the keen senses and the ability to choose perception as a proficiency

+3 from Wisdom 16
+2 Proficiency in Wisdom
+2 Proficiency in Perception (Druid skill choice)
+2 Proficiency in Perception (elven 'Keen Senses’)
 
Last edited:


I think I have it now.

Are we saying that

Regardless of the source, you can't be proficient with the same skill more than once?

Key word here being 'proficient' and in specific proficiency

EDIT: That can't be right because Wisdom 'proficiency' is added to the perception skill roll which would make redundant the keen senses and the ability to choose perception as a proficiency

That is proficiency in Wisdom saving throws not Wisdom ability checks. There are generally 3 types of d20 rolls: attacks, ability checks, and saving throws. There are other times you roll a D20, but they are few and far between. Attack rolls have a proficiency bonus for spellcasters or if the creature is proficient in the weapon being used. Ability checks have a proficiency bonus if the creature is proficient in a skill or tool that can be applied. Saving throws have a proficiency bonus if it is called out for the creature. For a character those are added from the class chosen at character creation or from a feat.
 

Probably more accurate then, to say

Beyond the proficiency provided by an ability (i.e Wisdom, Dexterity etc), regardless of the source, you cannot be proficient in the same skill from more than one source?
 

That is proficiency in Wisdom saving throws not Wisdom ability checks. There are generally 3 types of d20 rolls: attacks, ability checks, and saving throws. There are other times you roll a D20, but they are few and far between.
So proficiency from Wisdom is not added to a perception skill check?
 

Normally I would agree with you but this last part is what I query

I query it because the elf is not getting the same proficiency bonus from the same source, which may happen if you had for example, a race feature (+2 stealth) and a class feature (+2 stealth). Each bonus is from a separate; so there's no doubling up from the same source modifier

There's a general rule that You're not allowed to add the proficiency bonus more than once.
Your proficiency bonus can’t be added to a single die
roll or other number more than once. For example, if
two different rules say you can add your proficiency
bonus to a Wisdom saving throw, you nevertheless add
the bonus only once when you make the save.
(Player's Basic Rules, p. 57.)

The few cases where it's multiplied are specific class feature based exceptions.
 


Remove ads

Top